16 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Solo playing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vítor Marques
Portugal
flag msg tools
Hey guys, I was wondering if you could give me some help to choose a game to play alone...since I don't have many friends who like board games, I don't want to be excuse to dont play by myself

I prefere RPG and fantasy/horror games...and I think that games wich last more than 2 hours would become kinda boring :S

I read good reviews about Arkham Horror but it could take hours to finish a game...and I hear about Ingenious too but I don't know if I'm gonna like it since it's an abstract game :|

Oh, and I'm a newbie so I don't wanna a very complex game laugh

Well tell you justice
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cole
United States
Topeka
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Touch of Evil plays well solo if you use the coop rules. I would also recommend Race for the Galaxy w/ Gathering Storm with it's solo play. Pandemic is another good solo but it really doesn't fit into the horror theme, unless you thought Outbreak was a horror movie. Agricola is another solo game, but again not sure if you would like the theme of being a farmer, and I am not sure how long the solo game takes. I know the regular version can last awhile.

Have you thought about online gaming at Gametable, Mabiweb, or BSW to name a few?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james napoli
United States
Westwood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
greets,

my advice is to put ur energies into finding other gamers, as i too have tried solo gaming with little success. It could depend on your personality and i've learned that i really under estimated my value on the social aspect of gaming when i tried gaming solo.

Here are some of the games that i think do work though: