Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Herr der Ziegen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Herding Dog Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stven Carlberg
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played this for the first time last Thursday, and we were well puzzled trying to figure out the "herding dog" rules. At length, this is what we brained out:

Upon playing a dog card, the player gets to collect another card from the row he's already standing on. That card gets replaced from the deck as usual (if there are still cards in the deck). Then the player gets a "herding" move which lets him swap the positions of two cards which are in the same row (anywhere on the board, horizontal or vertical) with each other. One of the cards he swaps has to be one he already has one of his own small goats on. The other either has no goat on it or, if it has another player's goat on it, the other player has to give permission for the swap to happen. Or, if it's late in the game and there are empty spots on the board, a card with the player's own goat on it can be moved to an empty spot in the same row with it.

We couldn't tell for sure whether the card with your own goat on it could only be moved to a spot where it would become a part of your own double-scoring area -- that is, contiguous with your own original pen of goats or with another card already contiguous. There didn't seem to be much reason to prohibit such a move (just as there wouldn't often be a reason to want to make such a move), so we decided to allow it but in fact never had anybody wanting to make it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david karasick
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I interpret it was that you take a tile from the row with your big goat and put it in your hand. Then you can switch 2 tiles..........one with your small goat with another from the same row. The object is to place your small goat tile next to your pasture so you can get double scoring at the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stven Carlberg
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds like our interpretation except that you've added the requirement that the card-move be in the same row as your big goat's current position. We considered that possibility but from the illustrations in the rules, thought it probably wasn't the case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules it says that one tile must have an own small goat on it, but it doesn't mention you have to move it in a way it connects to your double scoring area. (I think the only reason you would do this is when you want to prepare for a later connection...)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
I agree with the interpretation that the swap need not immediately connect the swapped goat card to one's stable. Often it might take several swaps before a goat card is finally connected to one's stable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.