Hide
19 Posts

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: A World At War Advice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Legion Rempel
msg tools
I'm pretty new to war gaming, my only experience being Axis & Allies if that even makes the cut. I was looking at A World At War cause I wanted something the captures more than just the military aspect, but also the economic and political. However, as I read about it, many people have complained it's too complex or the rules change too often etc. I don't want to buy it and have it sit on my shelf, either because I can't figure it out, or find anyone to play with. So I was wondering if anyone had any opinions? Is it worth reading through 200 pages of manual? Do the games really take a year to complete?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunga Dunga
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My recommendation would be to try a wargame that is slightly less insane.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Collins
United States
Suffolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Legion,

You may want to look at various civ type games rather than strictly focusing on wargames. For example, 7 Ages has military aspects as well as economic and political aspects, but, it is a different focus than your OP... just a thought.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jonathan chapman
United States
Cambridge
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a big fan of the World at War.... It really alters the game of Axis and Allies, but if your very familar with the base game the additions are not hard to pick up on.

The rule manual is more like 30 pages and is broken down general rules and then rules that effect each country. Additionally it is easy to leave at sections of new rules and add them bit by bit.

I suggest you start the game in 1939 rules, Add France and China and netural country rules and maybe the special units for each country.