Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Great Wall of China» Forums » Rules

Subject: Riders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Raul Asensio
Spain
flag msg tools
Hi,
¿May someone clarify how should I play riders?
Thanks,
Raul
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaiah Tanenbaum
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules in front of me, but here's what I recall from playing it on Monday.

Playing cavalry is a free action, but it can't be the last thing you do on a turn. So, here are the situations where you may NOT play cavalry:

1) Draw
2) Draw
3) Play cavalry

1) Draw
2) Play another card
3) Play cavalry

1) Play another card
2) Play another card
3) Play cavalry

1) Play another card
2) Draw
3) Play cavalry

Your turn ends immediately after you take your two actual actions. The rules make this a bit murky because they call checking to see if you've won an "action," even though you aren't deciding anything, and label the actual choices you make as "actions 2 and 3."

Can someone with the rules confirm that you can't play cavalry BEFORE you count up a wall section (ie "action one")? That would make them awfully powerful, but maybe that's the idea.

EDIT: I was correct: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/170243
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raul Asensio
Spain
flag msg tools
Thanks Isaiah. Now it's clear when I can't play calvary cards, I'd like to know how could I play them when it's possible. For example, ¿Can I play 2 calvary cards at the same time?
Thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Lea
United Kingdom
Leeds
County: West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
From FFG as posted before:

The answer is that the cavalry card can be played in any legal
position and is treated like a free card play. It does not need to
follow another card. In this manner, you could draw two cards and
still play cavalry cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Kohut
United States
military/mobile
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
rplea wrote:
From FFG as posted before:

The answer is that the cavalry card can be played in any legal
position and is treated like a free card play. It does not need to
follow another card. In this manner, you could draw two cards and
still play cavalry cards.


I don't think you can play any cavalry after you've taken the second card.


The 3 actions explanation threw us off a little bit the first time we played. We decided to think of it as:

Check to see if you are ahead in any section then take two actions.

An action consists of:

A. Playing a single card or several identical cards face up into any section.
---OR---
B. Take a card from your draw pile.

Your second action is to make the above choice again. A. or B.


As for when you play cavalry:

Check your section.
Play cavalry--optional
Take your first action.
Play cavalry--optional. (You may play a cavalry card that you just
picked up if you chose the pick-up action.)
Take your second action. (Again you may play the card you just picked
up in the first action if you chose the
pick-up action.)
YOU CAN NOT PLAY ANY CAVALRY CARDS AT THIS TIME.
Your turn is over.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.