Homo Ludens
Canada
St. Albert
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Introduction

I'm an academic by trade, and as such I sometimes get a chance to peruse textbooks used in courses other than mine. Today I was browsing through a popular text book used for Sociology or History I think (or was it Micro-Economics?) and I came across a rather interesting case study, a case study that in many ways could be categorized as a session report of the game Agricola. So here it is, including editor's notes. I apologize for the rather rambling style of the original author - or perhaps we should blame his editor - but I give it to you in its entirety. I hope you'll find it interesting, if only for academic reasons . . .

The Session - Waiting for the Government Subsidy.

Sometime around 1673, somewhere in what is now Germany, there lived a husband and wife. Their names, predictably enough, were Jack and Jill. Both had some issues. For starters, neither was very happy with their name. Whenever they played games, for instance, Jack liked to call himself "the Jackel," and he would make claws with his hands when he played Hunters and Gatherers. Jill - who thought her husband was rather daft - just smiled a wan smile and groaned.

Another problem they had was that they were poor. Very poor. The economy was in recession and all the major German wagon makers were asking the Reichstag for money. The only reply they got was "Do you think vee are die makers of wagons? You figure out wat to do - no billionen of reichsmarks for you! First you need to stop paying so much to people who just put the knobbly thing on the wagon wheel every day. It's just click, bang, boom, all getan - hundreds of times in a row. Any fish-wife could do dat! Why do the German volk need to play for the volk's wagons?"