Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Viper clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith M
United States
Lansing
New York
flag msg tools
mb
Hey gang, on page 25 of the rules under Activating Vipers and in the last paragraph it says: "Each viper may be activated any number of times during a players turn".

The 'any' is a bit confusing. My group was wondering could this mean that a viper can be activated indefinitely?

OR

Does it mean that any viper can take any number of the required actions during one players turn?

Your input is appreciated. Thanx in advance and Merry Christmas :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Holzman
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
As grey traces of dawn tinge the eastern sky, the three travellers, men of Willowdale, emerge from the forest's shadow. Fording the river, they turn south, journeying into the dark and forbidding lands of The Necromancer...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kwayma wrote:
Does it mean that any viper can take any number of the required actions during one players turn?

Yes, this. You may use as many of the available activations as you like on a single Viper during the current player's turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An example is using Apollo's special ability to activate up to 6 unmanned vipers.



The same Viper could be..
launched (1 activation)
moved 2 areas (each is 1 additional activation)
attack 3 times ( the remaining 3 activations)

or any other combination of 6 unmanned viper activations



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
WEI-CHENG CHENG
Taiwan
Taipei
Taiwan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am wondering if Apollo's ability means he can activates "6" unmanned vipers, but not "6" activations.
That means he can activate up to 6 vipers, and each of these vipers can just do one activation, launch, move, or attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riku Riekkinen
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Here is (again) the thread where the BSG designer (Corey) says that same viper can activated multiple times with a single action: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/340233
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Holzman
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
As grey traces of dawn tinge the eastern sky, the three travellers, men of Willowdale, emerge from the forest's shadow. Fording the river, they turn south, journeying into the dark and forbidding lands of The Necromancer...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
silvanus321 wrote:
I am wondering if Apollo's ability means he can activates "6" unmanned vipers, but not "6" activations.
That means he can activate up to 6 vipers, and each of these vipers can just do one activation, launch, move, or attack.

No, This has already been discussed elsewhere.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/358717
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
WEI-CHENG CHENG
Taiwan
Taipei
Taiwan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification.
Now the ability is more flexible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.