Murray Lewis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Good at learning, useless at playing
badge
No secret message here
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys, I've only very recently (i.e. this month) decided to get into tabletop wargaming, having wanted to do it for some time.
Simply put, my question is this; what game is best for me to get as my first ever wargame?

I'd like some kind of modern scenario (WW1-onwards) that's not overly complex. I am a poor student who can't afford to spend lots of money on a game yet, so it also has to be easily available and cheap.

I'd like to play a game that will lead on to bigger and better things, but still be fun to play for many years.
Similarly, I'd like a good amount of realism, but not so much that I am overwhelmed or have to read hundreds of pages of rules.

I'd also like a game that I can play by myself as well as with others.

I have been considering maybe getting a box of Squad Leader, but I am worried that this will be too advanced for my first game.

Can you give me any help?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
0,07 Geek Gold
Italy
flag msg tools
Vendo tutta la collezione, clicca sul mio profilo per prezzi e disponibilità
badge
Vendo tutta la collezione, clicca sul mio profilo per prezzi e disponibilità
mbmbmbmbmb
If you wanna enter in wargaming and you never played a wargame, ASL I think it's too much...

A very good game not easy not difficult, good realism and absolutely enjoyable is Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear. You have hex and counters, and the advantage to be introduced into wargaming through a step by step method. Then, in future, you can step up a level

EDIT: another easy game is Memoir 44. There are tons of expansions and, with the upcoming expansion, is getting more & more interesting
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernest Schubert
United States
Polk Township
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Wow, that's tough. You're asking a big question there...

Could you narrow it down a little?