Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Discussing Retailers

Subject: Board Games and markup rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: flgs [+] buyingonline-vs-flgs [+] shopping [+] advertising [+] [View All]
Mark Iradian
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I've been working at a board game store for two years now and an assistant manager, I can safely say that I've seen some odd markups in our company.

Recently our disturber raised the price on some of the popular board games like Ticket to Ride and Talisman revised edition. Even the newly released Cosmic Encounter has been somewhat higher then normal new releases.

These games cost around 40 to 50 dollars. Our company tends to double the markup, so our Cosmic Encounter is 99.99.

I know the retail price is around 69.99 (we are talking about Canadian currency here), yet I've seen some online stores that sell the game much cheaper then that, some just a few dollars above the cost price.

My question is, how does the Brick and Mortar stores survive when the cost price is so high yet the retail price is barely making "safe" profit margins, yet the online stores charge so little for quite possibly the same disturber?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.L. Robert
United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Follow me for wargames!
mbmbmbmbmb
According to some, the answer is that a B&M store must offer MORE incentives (pre-order discounts, frequent buyer discounts, superior product knowledge, etc.) in order to "earn" their business. As if those additional incentives don't cost the store anything.

The real trick is to draw your customer base from board gamers who AREN'T BGG members. They tend to not be as price-conscious, are willing to buy at retail price, and still feel that they are getting value for money.