Jimmy Okolica
United States
Washington Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to BGG (so be gentle) and wanted to start rating the games that I own/play. However, to be fair I wanted to come up with a personal rating system and once I did that I, I thought it might be worthwhile to put the results in a review. I hope it is helpful for those in a similar situation. Constructive Criticism welcome.

Who I am/ Who Might Find This Useful
While I do occasionally play games at a local gaming group, when I buy games, the intent is (1) playing alone, (2) playing with my kids (ages 3, 7, and 7) or (3) playing with my non-gamer wife and friends. So the most important things for me are: (1) theme (to interest my wife, it can't just be pasted on), (2) degree of luck (not too much but more than just trace), (3) screw you factor (my wife likes these games – especially if there is an ability to gang up on the king), (4) adaptability for kids, (5) adaptability for solo play, (6) appropriate for large groups and (7) playing time.

Overview
A 1 - 4 player area control game. Player place Tetris-style pieces on an 18-x18 board to to extend their area of control and restrict their opponents. Playable by ages 5+ in 30 minutes (give or take depending on who is playing), the simple rules, pretty colors and unusual shapes make this game approachable by children, spouses and non-gamers who normally would avoid a pure strategy abstract game.

Number of times I've played: 10+

Theme (1 = trace, 10 = transports you to a new world)
Pure abstract game -- no theme Score: 0

Degree of Luck (0 = trace (go play Chess), 10 = all luck (go play War))
Pure strategy. While I have not seen a rigorous analysis of the search space, I would not be surprised if the search space is comparable to Chess. At the same time, its newness and pretty colors (not to mention simple rules) make this game much less daunting. Score: 0