Recommend
18 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Kamisado» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Basic Kamisado Puzzle: Can you force a win in one move? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kamisado is a great new abstract released at Essen 2008, and the rules can be learned in about 30 seconds. Here's the essentials:
- Players control either the Gold dragon towers or the Black dragon towers
- The winner is the player who gets a dragon tower to the final row on the opponent's side of the board first
- Movement is any number of spaces (but not over other pieces) directly forwards, or diagonally forwards
- The only catch: you must move your piece that matches the colour of the square on which your opponent moved his last dragon tower to
- If the required piece can't move because it is blocked, the other player gets to move his dragon tower corresponding to the colour of the square the blocked piece is on
There, that was easy! If you do need more help learning the rules, check this pictorial illustration of basic game-play.

But let's put the rules to work. I have created a puzzle for other gamers to solve. This one is rather simple, but it will help illustrate how the game works, especially for people just learning the game.

Basic Kamisado Puzzle

Here the Black player has made a very aggressive starting move, by advancing his orange tower right across the board, just one away from Gold's final row. But actually this is not such a clever move, because now Gold can win!

The challenge: You are the Gold player. Can you force a win in one move?
(Note: Gold must move his purple tower, since Black has moved his orange tower onto a purple square)



What is the correct move of the purple tower that guarantees a win for Gold in this position? And why?

Use algebraic notation to give your answer, (e.g. a1-c3, as commonly used in chess)



Note: a8-h1 is not the correct answer!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Simas
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
C8-C6
Black has no tower on orange, so gold gets to move C6-H1 for the win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Lloyd
United Kingdom
Holmes Chapel
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Shawn's move but the explanation is a bit out.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
As the orange piece of the black player is blocked, the gold player gets to move again with the colour that the blocked piece is sat on. So the purple piece must be moved and can move c6-h1 for the win.


edited for spelling
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Garry's explanation is correct, well done!

Gold: purple tower c8-c6 (orange square)
Black: orange tower unable to move (purple square)
Gold: purple tower c6-h1 (home row - win!)

Here's an explanation of the solution:

By moving the purple tower to a orange square, Black is stuck, because he is unable to move his orange tower. According to the rules this means that Gold gets to move a tower corresponding to the square that Black's blocked tower is on. Since Black's orange tower is on a purple square, Gold can move his purple tower again for the win!



How would you figure this out? Well you would calculate the solution in reverse. Looking at the original puzzle, you notice that Black's orange tower is unable to move. It's on a purple square, which is the same colour tower that Gold is required to play. Good news! So is there a move where you can place your purple tower on an orange square where you can win if you get to move it immediately again? Absolutely: c6!

Note that another possible solution is:
Gold: purple tower c8-b7 (orange square)
Black: orange tower unable to move (purple square)
Gold: purple tower b7-h1 (home row - win!)

If you enjoyed this, try the intermediate puzzle and advanced puzzle for a harder challenge.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.