Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

7 Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: how do you play Red Artefacts? (pg9) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
> RULES PG9
The particular requirements for, and effects of, each
artefact are explained in the Players’ Guide. An artefact
can’t be played if the artefact marker matching that
artefact is red, or already on the map or on the progress
track.
>

OK, so how DO you play a red artefact ???

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich S
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cards activate them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Non sequitor. Cards are needed for EVERYTHING.

It says you can't play RED artefacts. Period.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Lott
United States
Bellingham
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
it's a typo to be sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Duh. But what did they _intend_ to say about Red in particular?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Lott
United States
Bellingham
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
that if it's already in play? I don't know...

I play with the edited rule books.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Civilise – Artefact cards may be played on any empire (not just those within range) by any empire or nonempire
(delete the 4th para of Playing artefact cards).
Red artefacts can only be placed if its counter is not already in play."

From the errata page on BGG http://files.boardgamegeek.com/geekfile_view.php?fileid=1720...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm using the digital rules on the A-D-G websight. Have they not updated their digital version with their own errata?

>Red artefacts can only be placed if its counter is not already in play."

Do some artefacts appear on more than one card? It would be a good thing to mention, otherwise that sentence seems to be a non-sequitor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Woolley
United States
California
flag msg tools
Gronak wrote:
I'm using the digital rules on the A-D-G websight. Have they not updated their digital version with their own errata?

>Red artefacts can only be placed if its counter is not already in play."

Do some artefacts appear on more than one card? It would be a good thing to mention, otherwise that sentence seems to be a non-sequitor.


Not only do most artifacts appear on more than one card, but cards used to start artifacts go into the discard pile, and there are several ways that cards in the discard deck may end up in a player's hand. Specifically:

1. When the draw pile is empty, the discard pile is shuffled and becomes the new draw pile.

2. Religious leaders allow draws from the discard pile during destiny actions.

3. The Vizier event allows one draw from the top of the discard pile.

Any of these might result in a discarded artifact card being in a players hand while the artifact is still in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.