Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reserves to the Front rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
A TU Corp defending (let's say) Koprukoy has to take 4 LF

So it gets eliminated and replaced with a TU214....then that unit
flips to hold the space...

Then, on playing Reserves to the Front:
Can the CP use 2RP's to bring back the TU Corp at full strength....ending up with TUCorp and (TU114) ?

Or must he use the 1st RP to fix the TU SCU...and then bring back the
TU Corp flipped...ending with (TUCorp) and TU224 ??


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dellchili wrote:
A TU Corp defending (let's say) Koprukoy has to take 4 LF

So it gets eliminated and replaced with a TU214....then that unit
flips to hold the space...

Then, on playing Reserves to the Front:
Can the CP use 2RP's to bring back the TU Corp at full strength....ending up with TUCorp and (TU114) ?


Not quite. It's been mentioned before that the "reserves to the front card" essentially nullifies those 2 step losses. So you get the CORPS but not SCU that you would have had to take from the reserve pool because the corps was never actually destroyed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Yes..I could agree...but then the example on page 11 of playbook is
just wrong then...
"He is able to immediately rebiold his destroyed LCU at full-strength (for 2RPs) in MUS. The Inf SCU remains in Mus as well."


I can almost agree...but still the problem with the extra flip for holding the space....in effect then it should take 2 1/2 RP's to get
back to the start....

Or does a flipped SCU then go the RB ?..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wifwendell wrote:
dellchili wrote:
A TU Corp defending (let's say) Koprukoy has to take 4 LF

So it gets eliminated and replaced with a TU214....then that unit
flips to hold the space...

Then, on playing Reserves to the Front:
Can the CP use 2RP's to bring back the TU Corp at full strength....ending up with TUCorp and (TU114) ?


Not quite. It's been mentioned before that the "reserves to the front card" essentially nullifies those 2 step losses. So you get the CORPS but not SCU that you would have had to take from the reserve pool because the corps was never actually destroyed.


There's a difference between 2 Step losses and 2 RPs... and as James says the example of play clearly has the SCU staying there.

My take on this is that you can use the RPs any way you like providing you are repairing damage suffered in the combat, so you can build the Corps again and the SCU stays flipped (using Rps to build Corps doesn't normally send SCUs to the Reserve, so it won't here).


In this way the card is not like the Paths Withdrawal CC, which nullifies a step loss rather than granting RPs, and which can prevent an SCU from appearing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Stock
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The example in the playbook shows the correct way to play this card. Also see page 17 of the playbook for a detailed explanation on this card under CP #4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
thanks....
1 more thing....
I presume you can use this card to repair even the black-dotted units
...so is an exception to the "can never take Replacement Points"
in rule 3.2.2

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Stock
United States
Elsah
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No -- they still can't be repaired.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
yikes..i may be in trouble in a current game then!

Brad...thanks for the replies...but even more thanks for the great
game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.