BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: I got a question. You got answers? I hope so. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Shreve
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
I am continually coming up with random concepts for games I'd like to design, and I always end up fiddling with them, and coming up with what appear to be unique, effective, or fitting mechanics (sometimes a combination of the three), laying out a few sketches and rough idea layouts.

And then, I stop. I hit this wall, where I cannot figure out how to proceed with the process of design. For instance, take the restaurant game I had been fooling with for a few months. The setting consists of a restaurant (obviously), with the players being servers competing for tables and tips. I had pretty much had the entire system mapped out, with an intuitive colored time bar system for tracking numerous timers on one field. And then I couldn't go forward with it. Haven't touched it since.

I don't see it as a problem with me having no time or no dedication. I simply can't seem to move forward past the mechanics of a game, to the actual step of putting it all together.

So the question I mentioned earlier is, what the heck? What do I do? How do I get past this? Any advice from others with more success or experience in the craft would be intensely appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Tullsen
United States
VANCOUVER
WA
flag msg tools
designer
48 hour turnaround time for Prototypes!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamegame

Check out this game. It is a free PnP game, and I suggest all game designers take a look at it. Just shuffle, pull the top 5, and see what you find. It has a lot of great ideas. You might be surprised.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Herman
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb