Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Battleground» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spirit of the Stag vs Mithril and Routing Sequence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Gousis
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the Ravenwood player plays the Spirit of the Stag card and the High Elf player responds with Mithril Armor card which takes effect first if only one hit is scored? The Stag card says that if you do at least one damage then you do a free damage. The Mithril Armor card prevents one damage. So do you get the free damage and still do one damage, or does the Mithril prevent the first damage so no bonus is given?

The second question is about routing. Who does there routing rolls first. It makes a difference if you have two routing units, a card to help you not rout, and one of the routing units is facing another unit that is routing also. If you know that their unit is routing you may want to play the card on your unit to get the free strikes. Or play it on your other guy knowing that your opponenet will not get free strikes on you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Gousis
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so I will answer my own 2nd question. Apparently it is very clearly written in the rules under the routing section and I am just not very observant. Apparently the player who's turn it is goes first on rout checks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Ellis
United States
Brookline
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MonkeyGoose wrote:
The Stag card says that if you do at least one damage then you do a free damage. The Mithril Armor card prevents one damage. So do you get the free damage and still do one damage, or does the Mithril prevent the first damage so no bonus is given?


Great question. Damage prevention happens before things that trigger off of damage, so Aspect of Stag's extra point won't trigger if Mithril (or the Umenzi army ability) prevent the only point of damage dealt by the attack. Similarly, if a Lizardmen unit with Fury deals two points of damage and Mithril prevents one, the Lizardmen player cannot erase the mark to do an extra point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Gousis
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply and great support you have for this game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.