Subject: Pacific Typhoon - An Atlantic Storm Fan's Review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
mbmbmbmbmb
It isn't often that I will hazard a review of a game I haven't actually played. But I am a veteran and a big fan of Atlantic Storm, the older sibling to GMT's new card game Pacific Typhoon - and I feel I can do a justice to a review of Pacific Typhoon based on that experience and on just becoming the proud owner of Typhoon.

This is essentially a trick-taking game, based on the Pacific front of World War II. The rules say 3-7 but also note correctly that 4-6 is the best number; expect 1-2 hours to finish a game (from Atlantic Storm, I would guess closer to one hour).

The game plays out over the course of 20 battles. The battles themselves take place in different years (1941-45), and in either day or night (some battles allow the picking player to choose one of the other). The player whose turn it is pick the battle by drawing two battle cards and selecting one, (discard the other).

Sample Battle Card - Pearl Harbor, worth 7 VP

That player names one of three suits - air, surface, or land. Then each player in turn may play one (or more, with bonus cards) or more of the force cards in his/her hand to contribute to the battle, taking care that the card is eligible - battles occur in a given year, but not all force cards are available for all years. In particular, there are relatively few 1941 cards (much as Storm had few 1940 cards).

Sample Force Cards - Allies