Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Combat Commander: Pacific» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playbook LOS Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Humphreys
United Kingdom
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hello,
Just finished going through the rulebook for the first time, made a start on the playbook. I don't fully understand an example given in the Line of Sight section - Figure 1. Example D says that Benson has no hinderance on his LOS to Keegan "because his line of sight doesn't actually touch the physical depiction of a palm tree in an intervening hex".

Well the line of sight appears to touch several Palm trees between K2 and J3. One close to the centre of K2, two on the hex side between J2 and K3 and one in J3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul,

I believe this to be an error. The line of site is blocked in the example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Covered in this thread:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/366052
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Humphreys
United Kingdom
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah right I see! Makes a change the rules actually being wrong rather than my brain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Humphreys
United Kingdom
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whilst still on this subject however, just to clarify, if a LOS even just slightly clips the edge of a Palm tree say, this is still classified as a hinderance?

Thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chadwik
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vickers wrote:
just to clarify, if a LOS even just slightly clips the edge of a Palm tree say, this is still classified as a hinderance?

Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Humphreys
United Kingdom
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right ok, thanks. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chad Jensen wrote:
Vickers wrote:
just to clarify, if a LOS even just slightly clips the edge of a Palm tree say, this is still classified as a hinderance?

Yes.


But not the shadow of a palm tree!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chadwik
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nor its dangling nuts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chad Jensen wrote:
Nor its dangling nuts.


Nuts don't block... wait, I'm not going to go there.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Humphreys
United Kingdom
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oi!! Stop all this right now! I asked a very serious question that needed answering. So stop being silly.......,.....so do coconuts apply any modifiers?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Christopher
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
In the wonderful game, Bonaparte at Marengo, this is how to get nasty Frenchies out of a village.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vickers wrote:
do coconuts apply any modifiers?


African or European coconuts?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.