Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Carcassonne: Expansion 5 – Abbey & Mayor» Forums » General

Subject: How does the Abbey tile score? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It scores like a cloister, I believe. It has nothing to do with what features are on the tiles around it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
It scores exactly like the Cloister: one point for each surrounding tile, plus one for the tile itself. It doesn't score for the roads or cities or anything else, it just terminates them (think of the a wall surrounding the perimeter of the Abbey tile).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Martin
United States
Colorado Springs
CO
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps a better questions would be how does it affect the scoring of adjacent features? For example, say the Abbey is placed and in doing so, completes a road. Does the abbey count as a tile for the scoring of the road?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
martinmcu wrote:
Perhaps a better questions would be how does it affect the scoring of adjacent features? For example, say the Abbey is placed and in doing so, completes a road. Does the abbey count as a tile for the scoring of the road?

No.

In Carcassonne you score for tiles occupied by the scoring feature. There's no road, city or field on the Abbey tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benski Dayley
United States
West Jordan
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But if a meeple were standing on an adjacent feature, (like say a city that only needed one tile to complete it), and the abby was placed in that spot, would the meeple in the adjacent city be returned and scored?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crimson Truth
msg tools
You score the completed city according to the number of tiles that actually comprise the city. The abbey is not part of the city. The city ends on the sides of the abbey tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.