Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The First World War» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing last night 2 questions came up

1. A player can only hold 3 combat chits. If a forth is taken, one of the chits in your hand must be returned. Can the chit you want to return be a Mandatory chit?

2. When the BL treaty is in affect and area 11 as an example only have RO and RU units in it what happens if the AH player declares combat? Is it an automatic victory is the combat just not executed?

Thanks

Hans


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Nolan
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As for #1, I'd say "yes", that is how I've played it. Chances are you'll pick it up again at an inopportune point anyway!
As for #2, sorry, I'll have to scan the rules at home. Hope someone else can help in the meanwhile!



James N.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Butler
United States
Hughesville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
#2 AH can't attack Russian or Romania troops in front 11 so no cities would change hands.

They could take cities in front 11 if there were only the BEF or Fr Orient units on that front.



#1 I *think* you're right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Posner
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) We play that you can't discard it. Ifthe Pantaloons fit, you gotta wear 'em.

2) There can only be a fight if the MEF/OR are involved. otherwise they just sit looking at each other while the revolutionaries plot away back home.

thanks, Howard Posner
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandros Masmanidis
Greece
Kallithea
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Concerning your #1

"A few combat chits must be played in the next combat that allows their use after drawing them - a player is forced to play them. These include the pantalons rouge, shell shortage, Kaisertreu, and Ludendorff. After playing them, they are permanently removed from the game".

Rulebook 6.2.2 Mandatory chits

So you can't have a "negative" unused chit waiting in your hand. You are forced to play it (and receive the penalty) in the first battle after drawing it. So no, you can't discard it back to the cup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Lampus
United States
Blue Bell
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are forced to play it in the first battle that it applies to. You are not forced to initiate an applicable battle, therefore you may have one waiting in your hand.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Butler
United States
Hughesville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheEye wrote:
You are forced to play it in the first battle that it applies to. You are not forced to initiate an applicable battle, therefore you may have one waiting in your hand.



Yep, an important distinction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.