BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Newbie Gamer needs Recommendations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam E.
United States
South Dakota
flag msg tools
First of all, hi! I'm brand new to this site/forum. I've loved board games for as long as I can remember, but until recently I've mainly only been playing classic games and party games. We got Ticket to Ride and Settlers of Catan a few months ago, and I liked them a lot, but what really got me into it was getting Carcassonne for my birthday a few days ago. The game was fantastic, better than anything I had played before.

Anyways, I need recommendations for other games because I'm a newbie and have no idea where to start. Agricola looks a little too crazy for me just yet. I'd like 2-3 player games that are strategic and captivating, but still not too insane. I really like the tile-laying style of Carcassonne, but any kind of game is fine. I'm thinking of getting Pandemic and Power Grid next, since they both look like something I'd enjoy. I'll go for just about any kind of game within reason, really (besides maybe the really complex war games and such ).

So... recommend away! I'd love to hear your input.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Weckermann
Canada
Powell River
British Coumbia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Sheesh you make it tough you already picked the two i would suggest to buy. Add a multiplayer war game to that and your set. Other than that only you know your and your groups playing style and desires. Read the reviews people write on games, and do not just pick within the top 100, look in the top 600 or 1200 would be a better idea.

edit added word just
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Honorable Mayor McCheese
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb