Popular Tags: [View All]
Ethan Van Vorst
United States
Spencer
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Chess. You've played it. And you have an opinion on it. You're either in love with it, hate it, or have this ambivalent "ehhh" response when challenged to a game.

Just listen to what Murray Head had to say on the subject.

I was introduced to Chess around the age of 10 by my older sister Liz, who was something of a Chess Champ for a spell of time in her teen years. The game itself is classified by BGG as "abstract". I'm relatively new to BGG, so I'm not sure exactly what that means except perhaps that the gameboard doesn't show a map or concrete landmass you're playing on, per se, but rather a checkered board on an 8 x 8 grid. If this is the case then technically doesn't this make Checkers an abstract game? Food for thought. At any rate, I will write this review as if you, the reader, have never indulged in the "Game of Kings" and will only cover the basics of how this great game works.

The Pieces
The game is strictly 2 player. Typically one side will be white and the other black (the pieces, not the players). Each side is given:

8 Pawns
2 Rooks
2 Knights
2 Bishops
1 Queen
1 King

These are set up on two ends opposite each other. If there is ever any confusion on if you've set it up properly, remember the old mnemonic, "Queen on her own color", and you'll be set right.

Image courtesy of Kevin Iacoucci/BGG, and an extremely beautiful board and pieces, I might add.

Each piece on the board has a varying degree of, for lack of a better word, power. The Pawn, for instance, is the weakest. It can only move forward and attack targets one square diagonal of it, should any be there. I'll go through the laundry list for each piece so that you may get a better grip on how they work. I'm not expecting anyone to become Gary Kasparov's protege after reading this, but you'll get the gist.