Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turkish Withdrawal...in a Region rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Ok....let's say that the CP manages to get a TU-SCU into Eastern Persia
while they control the space.

When attacked later...from Central Asia let's say...can the TU unit
use the turkish withdrawal ....and not have to retreat since in a
region...

or if so...must that TU unit retreat out of the region?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Turkish Withdrawal is only possible "when an attack is announced against a space with a defensive advantage".

Regions are not spaces, therefore Turks cannot use withdrawal in regions. The regions are just to big for the maneuvre to work.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
again...not sure..
on page 3, in definition of Region it states
"When rules refer to a space, it applies to Regions as well, unless stated otherwise"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok...In which case I think that you can't use Turkish Withdrawal in a Region, because you cannot retreat and retreating is an essential part of the maneuvre.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
I would agree with Philip here. Brad or Brian, what say?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Seems like it would be easier to "fade away during the night" in a
big region...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Good point.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael B
United States
Overland Park
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought the reason you don't retreat out of a region was because you really are just retreating to another part of the region.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Surviving units stay in the region and prevent the attacker from controlling the region- this is described as in effect retreating within the region...but in mechanics terms it is nothing of the kind, as you retain control of the place you started in.

If the retreating units were excluded from the check by the attacker for enemy units surviving (allowing him to take over the region if the only units left are retreating units) then Turkish Withdrawal could be meaningfully effected and the CP would have a real choice as to whether to use it. With the rules as written, if Turkish Withdrawal is allowed in a region then the CP should choose it every time as it has no downside.

I'm still holidng out for no Turkish Withdrawal in a region, unless there is errata as outlined above (or, equally, someone points out to me that I have misunderstood regional combat as written, and in fact it works as described above).



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Stock
United States
Elsah
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Honestly, having at this time no memory of what I intended re Regions with Turkish Withdrawal, I am pondering the above arguments. My memory is that Philip is right, and I find his arguments persuasive -- no retreat from a Region means no withdrawal, since there would be no penalty for having chosen it (as there is on the regular map).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
great...that is totally the right answer..

with some luck the CP could manage to get a TU224 or more into
Eastern Persia early...and with the Qashqai would be too hard to get
out otherwise....

just didn't see it in the rules...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.