Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Politics Politics! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone please describe how a Political Marker becomes 'Active AND Moves' at the same time?
(Possibly even moving more than once?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vinny Tee
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here you go:

1) Activate Nation on any of the following:

• Enemy army enters a region of that nation.
• One of nation's armies is attacked.
• Fellowship is declared in a City or Stronghold of the nation.
• Companion, able to activate, in City or Stronghold.

2) Advance Nation on Political Track when:

• Use Muster Action die to advance it one level towards At War
• One of the nation's armies is attacked.
• One of the nation's Towns, Cities, or Strongholds is captured.
• Cannot advance to At War unless nation is activated.

3) Before At War, nation may not:

• Cross borders of another nation (except to retreat)
• Attack enemy armies, but can defend.
• Recruit with muster die.

So a nation political marker can be activated and advanced twice in the same turn if an enemy army attacks a nation in a region with a Town or Stronghold and the enemy wins the battle and captures the Town of Stronghold.

The marker is activated for the attack. The marker is also advanced because of the attack and advanced again because the Town or Stronghold was captured.

Hope this helps.

NOTE: The above answer was taken from the rules summary player aid created by RangerRob.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
Q. . Can someone please describe how a Political Marker becomes 'Active
A. . Turn it over



Q. . AND Moves' at the same time?
A. . Move it toward the At War box



Q. . (Possibly even moving more than once?)
A. . Move it again



I think this may be the answer he needs.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
So, actually, any time a nation is attacked - for the first time (with the exception of the Elves) it's marker is turned 'Active' AND it's 'Advanced' - correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kolev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mercom wrote:
So, actually, any time a nation is attacked - for the first time (with the exception of the Elves) it's marker is turned 'Active' AND it's 'Advanced' - correct?

Yes, and it seems this can happen in two different ways:
1) You enter an undefended settlement inside the nation's borders and capture it
2) You attack a nation's army (no matter if it's inside it's own borders or in a neutral region)
If you attack a defended settlement of the nation, defeat the army and capture it, then the marker will be advanced twice.
I think the marker advances not just the first time you do any of the above actions, it happens each time you do it. As for the activation, it can happen only once anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I've had this question for some time now, so I'll just go ahead and ask it.

Quote:
3) Before At War, nation may not:

• Cross borders of another nation (except to retreat)
• Attack enemy armies, but can defend.
• Recruit with muster die.


Then what is "activating a nation" for ? What is it that a nation can do then, but it couldn't when it wasn't still activated?

-Note- I mean when it still is not at war.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ikolev wrote:
I think the marker advances not just the first time you do any of the above actions, it happens each time you do it. As for the activation, it can happen only once anyway.

Correct.

DarkS0uL wrote:
Then what is "activating a nation" for ? What is it that a nation can do then, but it couldn't when it wasn't still activated?

-Note- I mean when it still is not at war.

A Passive Nation cannot move itself to War on the Political Track. It may move itself up to the last space before "at War", but it may not move to "at War" until it is Active.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.