Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Command Basics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
e l
United States
detroit
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I’m going to guess that most of these questions are simple but I’m still having trouble wrapping my arms around the answers. Please help me out if you can.

I’m in the Friendly Command Phase.

My BN HQ is not on the map so I activate my CO HQ and draw an action card. Just for kicks I get 4 orders (net).

Say I expend a command and activate (?) the 1st platoon HQ on the same card with the CO HQ – do I continue on with what the 1st platoon HQ is going to do or do I assign more commands?

Can the CO HQ command itself to move to an adjacent card and then assign commands to other units from there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
christian lecuyot
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am far to be a specialist of this game and i am struggling with its rules too since a while. But here is what i understood :

kensel wrote:
Say I expend a command and activate (?) the 1st platoon HQ on the same card with the CO HQ – do I continue on with what the 1st platoon HQ is going to do or do I assign more commands?

From what i understood you have the choice to continue in any order you wish.You can either continue with the 1st platoon HQ, or continue to assign commands with Your CO HQ.

kensel wrote:
Can the CO HQ command itself to move to an adjacent card and then assign commands to other units from there?

The CO HQ can of course move to an adjacent card. This HQ can order any platoon HQ there and i think he can give commands to any unit not in the CO net on the card except if they are in different covers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Say I expend a command and activate (?) the 1st platoon HQ on the same card with the CO HQ – do I continue on with what the 1st platoon HQ is going to do or do I assign more commands?


The CO HQ Impulse of the Activation phase comes before the PLT HQ Impulse, so the CO HQ needs to spend/save all his Commands before you move on to drawing commands for your activated PLT HQs (or Staff).

Quote:
Can the CO HQ command itself to move to an adjacent card and then assign commands to other units from there?


Certainly - you'll do that a lot.

Hope this helps,
Ricky
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
From what i understood you have the choice to continue in any order you wish.You can either continue with the 1st platoon HQ, or continue to assign commands with Your CO HQ.


Actually, what you are referring to is within the PLT HQ Impulse. If several PLT HQs have orders to spend during the PLT HQ Impulse, you can go back and forth between them in any order you wish. But the various PLT HQs do NOT spend orders during the CO HQ Impulse.

Ricky
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
e l
United States
detroit
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Thanks guys. Those answers clear things up a lot.

Restrcing the activities of the platton HQ's to their phases adds to the feel of command chains. I like it!

The Germans have been kicking my arse in the very 1st scenario but I'm loving every mnute of it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
christian lecuyot
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Preacher wrote:
Quote:
From what i understood you have the choice to continue in any order you wish.You can either continue with the 1st platoon HQ, or continue to assign commands with Your CO HQ.


Actually, what you are referring to is within the PLT HQ Impulse. If several PLT HQs have orders to spend during the PLT HQ Impulse, you can go back and forth between them in any order you wish. But the various PLT HQs do NOT spend orders during the CO HQ Impulse.

Ricky

Oh Yes, it makes really sense and i guess i did it wrong then.Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Herron
United States
Johnson City
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Never play block wargames with a dentist, they have those little mirrors to peek behind the block.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Can the CO HQ command itself to move to an adjacent card and then assign commands to other units from there?


Certainly - you'll do that a lot.

Hope this helps,
Ricky


If one is just issuing commands to PLT HQs the CO doesn't need to move he can call them if there is a comm link right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Didn't realize I could bounce back and forth between plt commands. I'm still trying to figure out what the most efficient way to put record all the commands my plts get and use even without adding in bouncing activations back and forth between platoons!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If one is just issuing commands to PLT HQs the CO doesn't need to move he can call them if there is a comm link right?


Correct, as long as they're both on the CO TAC Net. But what will happen quite a bit is a situation where you'll want/need to use your CO HQ to give an order directly to a squad/weapon team, etc. that is not carrying a radio. In that case you'll obviously need to get within Visual-Verbal range.

Ricky
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Didn't realize I could bounce back and forth between plt commands. I'm still trying to figure out what the most efficient way to put record all the commands my plts get and use even without adding in bouncing activations back and forth between platoons!


Y. I personally prefer to finish with one PLT HQs commands before moving on to the next. But there is an increased degree of flexibility going back and forth.

An easy way to track is just to use the Saved Commands marker to track each order as it is used.

Ricky
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
christian lecuyot
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Preacher wrote:
An easy way to track is just to use the Saved Commands marker to track each order as it is used.

Ricky

Thats how i do it and it works perfectly well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Jones
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garysax wrote:
Didn't realize I could bounce back and forth between plt commands. I'm still trying to figure out what the most efficient way to put record all the commands my plts get and use even without adding in bouncing activations back and forth between platoons!


I stole some cubes from my local euro game and I'm using those each turn to help me keep track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.