Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
mbmbmbmbmb
Not really rule design, but I am trying to do some graphical work on a game board, and I am next to a total noob when it comes to Illustrator or Photoshop.

Shortly, I'm just placing rings and lines and symbols on a map. I could do it all in InDesign, that I master quite well by know (been working with it for years) but I would like to do something that looks better than just plain, stark coloured rings.

In Photoshop there is a "brush" tool that gives you a line with smooth edges; if you do a thick stroke, you have a strong colour in the middle of the line, but gradually fading as you reach the edges of the line. I'd like to do rings with that kind of smooth line. But when I do circles in Photoshop, I can only get filled circles, not rings…

In Illustrator (I generally prefer to work in Illustrator, Photoshop doesn't like me) I can do unfilled rings, but I can't find this brush effekt.

Another thing I'd like to do is similar; a smooth, fading outline for text. I'd like the text to be black (or brown), but have a yellow (or whatever) outline, but I want the outline's colour to sort of gradually fade into the background, a bit like the shining, white outline of the "Agricola" text in this image:
but not quite as faded, though.

When I experimented with circles in Illustrator, I found this Radiance tool that does about what I would want to achieve, but it was a bit too exaggerated.

So, to sum up, if someone could explain how to

1) draw (thick) lines and rings and have the colour "fade out" at the edges.
2) Get a "fading" outline on text

in Illustrator, preferrably?

(Of course, I could just do the lot in InDesign, but I'd really like something that looks a bit better… this smooth line thing probably isn't possible in InDesign.)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States