Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: GMT's Gringo! Rules to SPI's GBACW Wilson's Creek. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
So I recently started playing Gringo! (solo), and I noticed that the modified GBACW rules in Gringo would work really really well for the old SPI Wilson's Creek. I guess this occurred to me because as a battle Wilson's Creek is closer in size to the battles in Gringo! than to say, Gettysburg, First and Second Bull Run, or Chickamauga. Which leads to my question:

Anyone have any suggestions as to how to go about integrating the two systems in such a way as to udpate Wilson's Creek? (or at least want to have a public discussion on it)

My familiarity with the GBACW system is limited to primarily solo games, so I am sure I am leaving something out. I realize that a lot of the weapons and fire tables will have to be taken from the older system, to account for those units which carried rifles at Wilson's Creek. Also, the initiative and activation system would need to be weighted towards the Union, at least early on, as Wilson's Creek was a surprise attack. Obviously Sigel can be made an unreliable General for purposes to modeling his inability to carry through his part of Lyon's plan. In that same vein, the rules in the older system for dealing with Lyon's death should probably be kept.

Anyone got anything on this topic? (its okay if you don't, I still like you.)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Stampley
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb