Subject: Sci-Fi (Bujold) Suggested Reading rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick Meerkat Update: I have been/probably will be around less for awhile. Real life interferes with fun sometimes.

Anyway somebody ask me about a suggested Lois McMaster Bujold book reading order a few weeks back. At the moment I cannot remember which thread that was in so I am just doing a new post.

First, two of her Sci-Fi books are truly 100% stand alone.

Falling Free is a book with excellent speculative science that explores some of the potential moral conflicts that this science might spin out. As a bonus a middle aged quality engineer gets the role of both hero and romantic lead.

Ethan of Atheos starts out on an all dude world. Very interesting look at what society might look like without gender variations, plus a great mystery angle for the plot. Lois said her original inspiration was that she wanted to explore how society might work out family issues if the for pay vs. free labor needed for any society to function did not fall heavily along gender lines.

The bulk of the rest of her Sci-Fi is part of the Vorkosigan series of books.

FYI Just to make this forum topical, (we wouldn’t want this post to get hijacked into Bacon Land) She is heavy on the Politics in a wonderfully complex way, delightfully suggestive but not explicit on the Sex and very very low key on the Religion in the Vorkosigan Series.