Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. Grace
Australia
Adelaide
SA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT : on further thought, it seems a *bad* idea to mark the terrain pieces, as some scenarios require the pieces to be face down till "discovered", and if they are marked on the back, they can be predicted !

It might be an idea to mark the number tokens ( only), at least the ones for the 5 &6 game AND for Seafarers ( these are a different set to those of the base game) ...now read on >>
------------------------------------------------------------------
Original Post ..." I am a newbie to Settlers, have played about ten games all up. But I liked it so much, I have just taken delivery of the base game ("vanilla"), the Seafarers and Cities & Knights, plus their respective 5/6 player extensions.

Setting up a first game of "vanilla 5" (base + 5/6), I found it quite difficult & confusing to sort out all the different sets of pieces ( hexes, number chits, harbours, frame pieces etc). I was a little surprised that none of the sets appears to have a detailed inventory that would allow the owner to un-scramble the combined counter mix ( if necessary).The only way to do this is to follow the diagrams, which seems pretty slow and tedious..not to mention hard on my ageing eyes!

It has occurred to me that I should be able to *mark* the components of
each set on the reverse sides ( so as not to show during play), but in general I don't like to *deface* games if I can help it.And I notice that the Vanilla frame pieces have to be reversed for the expansions anyway, so any marks would show...

My options so far seem to be ( inclusively):
a) mark all the "Vanilla 4 player" ( only) components
b) mark all the Seafarers 4 ( only) components
c) mark the 5/6 player components as such

I am sure someone will have thought of a more elegant solution to this problem ! Grateful any ideas

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gareth Reynolds
New Zealand
Christchurch
Canterbury