Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » Rules

Subject: movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Archibald Zimonyi
Sweden
Gothenburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I think all editions handle movement the same way, and then example a) is correct.
Each player places the five cards that will make up one round of movement. For each card (which is a phase) all players show the first card, then the player with the highest value on his card moves first. When every player has moved, the gameboard moves things (pushers, crushers etc). After shooting and damage has been taken care of, everyone shows their second card and so on.

Which version do you have?

Archie
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's the same rules in all versions:

Phase 1: All robots execute card #1 (priority order if necessary). Then all robots are moved by board elements. Then all lasers fire (board lasers and robot weapons simultaneously). Then you check robot's position to see if someone has touch a flag/registered somewhere.

Phase 2: All robots execute card #2 (priority order if necessary). Then all robots are moved by board elements. Then all lasers fire (board lasers and robot weapons simultaneously). Etcetera.

Phase 3: All robots execute card #3 (priority order if necessary) etcetera.

Board elements order is:
1) Express conveyor belt pushes robots 1 step in arrow direction.
2) All conveyor belts (express and normal) push robots 1 step (for express conveyors.
3) All pushers push 1 step if active this register phase.
4) Everything else: Gears, crushers, etc.

Firing order is (this is VERY rare that you have to apply this):
1) Damage is dealt
2) Robots are moved by weapon effects.
This is the official ruling. However, this can be ambiguous sometimes. I actually prefer to say that all robots fire according to card priority order if necessary.

Checking for position comes last. Meaning, if you moved to a flag, but a robot pushes you off it using Pressor Beam or Tractor Beam, you haven't touched the flag.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain Martel
Canada
Stoneham
Qc
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anathemus wrote:
ok thanx guys, so it's example B, right? but will the robot fire his laser 5 times then?


Hmm, no. Movement priorities depend on the number on the card. If the card in Robot A Register 1 has a value of 100 and the one in Robot B Register 1 has a value of 700, then Robot B goes first.

Laser will indeed fire 5 time total.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anathemus wrote:
ok thanx guys, so it's example B, right?

No. Your example B is that robot 1 does his first 2 cards, then robot 2 does his 2 first cards. That is NOT how you do it. Like I said it's:

ALL robots do their respective first card (then board elements move, then all lasers fire etc)

When ALL robots have done their first card, and board elements have moved and lasers have fired, then ALL robots do their respective second card (then board elements, then lasers, etc).
When that is done, then ALL robots do their third card (etc).
then ALL robots do their fourth card.
then all robots do their fifth card.

After the fifth card, the round is ended. Collect all cards, deal new cards, make new program, rinse and repeat.

anathemus wrote:
but will the robot fire his laser 5 times then?

As all robots fire their lasers after they have moved, and the board elements have moved, each robot will fire his lasers 5 times each round, one time per phase. Just like the board elements: conveyor belts will move 5 steps total during one whole round, one each phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Archibald Zimonyi
Sweden
Gothenburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
anathemus wrote:
ok thanx guys, so it's example B, right? but will the robot fire his laser 5 times then?

No, as mentioned by the others too, example a) is correct.

How do you play a round? Can you give us an example so that we might say where you might play it wrong? Simon did indeed give a nice review of a round (also found in the rulebooks) but it might be easier to write it with even more words.

Archie
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mb
zimonyi wrote:
anathemus wrote:
ok thanx guys, so it's example B, right? but will the robot fire his laser 5 times then?

No, as mentioned by the others too, example a) is correct.


Example A isn't entirely correct either.

It should be:

Robot 1 and Robot 2 --> register 1
Robot 1 and Robot 2 --> register 2
etc.

The robots follow their commands simultaneously. The only time order matters is if there is a conflict (such as two robots trying to enter the same space) in which case the command card priority numbers determine which happens first.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.