Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Variants

Subject: 100 Custom Aliens from The Warp (part 3 of 10) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Reda
United States
Herndon
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Guess the games in my uberbadge!
badge
My favorite game is Cosmic Encounter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Continued from http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/377865
and from http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/379622

DUKE [O:Warp] Forces Artifact Use - 2008

You have the power of Edict. As a main player in an encounter, at any time, you may name any Artifact in the game. Starting clockwise from any player you name, if a player has the Artifact, he or she must play it at that time, if appropriate. You may be targeted by an Artifact played in this manner. Alternatively, you may name an Artifact that may not be played by any player in this encounter (the only exception is a Cosmic Zap that stops this power).

History: Bred from the finest lines among the major houses, the Dukes have grown accustomed to having their way. The belief that their word is law is so palpable, whatever the Dukes decree often does come to fruition, for other, weaker races fear the consequences of disobedience.

Notes: The recommended experience level for this power is Advanced. This is a Rules type power.

Wild: Exchange this card for an Artifact that is played. The Artifact does not take effect at that time, and the player who played it gets this Flare instead.

Super: You determine the target of any Artifact you decree.

Comments: This power is a tip of the hat to the Dukester. Duke is able to either shield himself from artifacts, or on occasion force a situation that helps his side out. There have been times when you needed someone to play a Card Zap, but they weren't on your side, so they didn't.

ENIGMA [O:Warp:2] Mixes Encounter Cards - 1992

You have the power of Ambiguity. As a main player in an encounter, after cards are played but before they are revealed, you may use this power to collect an encounter card at random from any players not involved and mix them together with either your card or your opponent's card. You then hand them back randomly. Your opponent must play the card if he or she is given one.

History: Confusing their enemies into misjudging their own power, the Enigmas travel in nebulous obscurity. Being an equivocal species of a questionable nature, the Enigmas riddle the cosmos with an obscure cloud of uncertainty.

Wild: Collect every player's power (including your own) and mix them together. Then pass them out randomly. Everyone must now play their new powers. Give this card to Enigma if it is in the game after you play it. If Enigma is not in the game, discard it to play it.

Super: You may look at the cards before you mix them.

Comments: Enigma brings uncertainty to your encounter. Do you bother trying to play your best card? It depends on how many players are not involved in the encounter. This alien is a bit of a cross between Chosen and Laser.

ENVY [M:Warp] Limits Power Use Jack Reda - 1996

You have the power of Jealousy. Use this power to prevent any player from using his or her power against you unless you have a base in their system.

History: The Envy look at the Cosmos and only see the things that other alien races have. They covet these things, and spend their entire lives trying to get them. Once they have as much, they are happy to allow others to exercise their will, but only then.

Wild: Your opponent may not use his or her power unless you both share a base with each other.

Super: You may use your power to affect an ally in an encounter.

Comments: Simple and straight forward, Envy does get weaker as the game goes on, but hopefully by then he has enough of a lead that it won't matter.

EVANGELIST [O:Warp] Forces Power Use - 2002

You have the power to Compel. Any time you are involved in an encounter, you may use this power to force a player to use his or her optional power. You must do so before the phase to use their power has elapsed.

History: Marked by tremendous enthusiasm for supporting any cause, the charismatic Evangelists can whip even the most skeptical heathens into a fervor of faith. This hypnotic state causes subjects to testify to the unknowable, speak in tongues, and unleash their power however the Evangelists see fit.

Wild: You may force a player that was invited to both sides of an encounter to join your side.

Super: You do not have to be involved in the encounter to use your power.

Comments:Evangelist has the advantage of knowing that Sorcerer will be switching, and Calculator will be calling out calculate. It still isn't a guarantee of a win, but it gives him more options.

EXPONENT [O:Warp:2] Sacrifices Allies to Increase Total - 2003

You have the power to Factor. As a main player, you may use this power to sacrifice some of your allies' ships to increase your total by a factor of the number of ships sacrificed (e.g. if you sacrifice 3 ships, you multiply your totals by 3). For each ship sacrificed, you must give that player a card at random from your hand. You must sacrifice ships before cards are revealed.

History: Living in the event horizon of a tremendous black hole, the Exponent captured other aliens that were caught in the singularity's pull. By absorbing the alien power, the Exponent were able to escape their home, and venture into the cosmos. Now they continue the practice of sacrificing others to increase their own power.

Wild: As an ally, you may sacrifice your ships before cards are revealed, and gain rewards of cards.

Super: You may give your allies specific cards from your hand when you sacrifice their ships.

Comments: Other players know they will have to ally with more than just one ship if they hope to get anything more than a card from Exponent. Exponent can unload less useful cards if that's all he has and help himself win an encounter at the same time.

FLAK [O:Warp:2] Aids While Uninvolved - 2002

You have the power to Shell. Whenever you are not involved in an encounter, you may use this power to play an Attack card on either side of the encounter, adding to that side's total. If that side wins, you draw a card from the deck.

History: Keeping a watchful eye on the outcome of cosmic conflict, the Flak pick and choose whom to offer long-range assistance. Their powerful cannons can lay down a path of destruction without risking any Flak personnel.

Wild: You may play a kicker on either side of an encounter before cards are revealed, as long as you are uninvolved in the encounter. The other player then has an opportunity to play a kicker as well.

Super: You may use your power as an ally.

Comments: Flak is able to get rid of a card and hopefully replace it with a better one, without putting any of his ships at risk. He can also help stop the leaders from gaining a victory by playing a card valued higher than the 4 ships he would have needed to ally with to help the defense. It also lets him bypass a Force Field.

FOCUS [O:Warpl] Arranges Planets in Order of Defense - 2009

Game Setup: Arrange your planets in the order you wish them to be challenged. Arrange your ships on the planets in any denomination you like (as long as there is at least one ship per planet).

You have the power to Channel. Other players must attack you in the order you select. If they have a colony on the first-most planet, they must attack the next one, and so on. When you establish a foreign colony, you may place that planet behind the others, forcing players to attack elsewhere first, if possible. At the start of your turn, you may rearrange the order of any planets in your system.

History: Brilliant engineers, the Focus work on a massive scale, constructing planet-sized mechanisms that can change the orbit of an entire world. Through the use of multi-dimensional mathematics, the Focus can predict where attacks will occur in their own system, and prepare their defenses accordingly.

Wild: When discarding cards, you may place any of them on top of the Encounter deck, in any order you like.

Super: You may rearrange the order of your planets between players' turns.

Comments: Focus can sometimes prevent piling up of offensive players by making someone attack a planet that the other players already have a colony on. Those players are now more likely to ally with the defense. On foreign colonies, Focus increases his chances of being allied to help attack, and can also make it less likely that player will target him in their own system.

FUNNEL [M:Warp] Players Use Coexisting Ships - 2006

You have the power to Conduct. Any time you share colonies with another player or when a player has a colony in your system, use this power to force that player to use his or her ships on those colonies for subsequent encounters.

History: Putting their enormous size to good use, the Funnels began to guide and direct their allies, forcing them to pare down their numbers. Eventually, the Funnels found themselves in positions of power everywhere they were established, until ultimately they rose to power.

Wild: You may select which ships a player will use to attack you. He or she specifies the number.

Super: You may force a player to use his or her last ship on a colony he or she shares with you if that player wishes to move ships for any reason.

Comments: Funnel forces players to commit fully to encounters. When they have a colony in his system, or shares one with him, they have to use those ships in their next encounters. Players with only 1 ship left on a Funnel colony will have to vacate that colony if they want to use a ship.

GENERATOR [M:Warp] Creates Additional Powers - 2001

You have the power of Power. At the start of the game, flip over the top card of the unused flare deck. You now control this power and may use it any time. The flare card is face up, but is still considered part of your hand, subject to loss in compensation, or discard. If another player picks up that card, they then get control of that power. The power is subject to Cosmic Zap as well as Card Zap, resulting in a discard of the power. Whenever you win an encounter as a main player, at the end of the resolution phase, draw another flare and add it to your face up flares. No player may play these flares as a flare- they are only used as powers.

History: Created long ago when the universe was sparsely populated, the Generator set out to fill the ranks of an alien army. Now, long after their creators have perished, the Generator continues to create new life forms, heedless of the effects on society as we know it.

Wild: As a main player, you may draw an additional power from those not in use for the duration of this encounter, discarding it afterward.

Super: You may give a player a regular flare card (including this one) and take their face up flare power.

Comments: Before I knew what the Powerhouse Power did, this is what I imagined. I like mine better. Generator will be a natural target for compensation, but that will mean he draws yet another flare to add as his power after compensation has been taken.

GENIE [M:Warp] Gives Cards to Main Players - 2009

You have the power of Wishes. As an ally in an encounter, before cards are played, use this power to draw three cards from the deck. You must give a card to each main player, and may keep the third card for yourself (or discard it).

History: Trapped in the confines of a smaller, parallel universe, the Genies were grateful to be released. In appreciation for being involved in the affairs of their new masters, they eagerly bestowed gifts on them. As they matured, the Genies' gifts became less useful, as they began to secret away their more valuable belongings against the day when they could be used for conquest.

Wild: As a main player, after cards are revealed in an encounter, you may name any Attack card, and if another player has it, it is played down in place of yours. Afterward, give this flare to the Genie. If the Genie is not playing, discard this flare to use it.

Super: You may use your power as a main player, giving one card to your opponent, and keeping the other two for yourself.

Comments: Genie gets a little reward for being invited to ally, and so does the player who invited him... thus Genie can help his side win sometimes, and can also sometimes add a lousy card to his opponent's hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool but a few thoghts:
envy could use a bit of elaboration on how the negation thing works.

evangelist is screwed against involuntary powers like Macron.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Reda
United States
Herndon
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Guess the games in my uberbadge!
badge
My favorite game is Cosmic Encounter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No one is able to use their power against Envy, even Mandatory powers. They just don't work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah so envy is static? whenever the power would activate it doesn't?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antigonus Monophthalmus
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Genie is a cool power
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Reda
United States
Herndon
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Guess the games in my uberbadge!
badge
My favorite game is Cosmic Encounter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
ah so envy is static? whenever the power would activate it doesn't?


I suppose that's one way to describe... it predates the FFG "Use" methodology... it has just been a power that auto-deactivates other powers when they face each other (like Martian in CEO).

And yes, Evangelist has no sway over mandatory powers like Macron (but then neither does anyone else). But against Sorcerer or Mirror, Evangelist can plan ahead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Woods
United States
Calabasas
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Duke would obviously be a red alien, but I LOVE THIS IDEA!!!!! Such a great power, and my vote for best of the ones listed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.