Holger Hannemann
United Kingdom
Upper Heyford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone.
I'm fairly new to the Geek, and I just wanted to share my first sologame of Agricola with you.
First of all, I played Agricola before in my gaming group. Once. We played a 4-player game, and except for Craig we were all new to the game. After explaining the rules (it took Craig 15 minutes to go through), I sat there and thought: is THAT all? Seems too easy for a game that weighs about a ton and has millions of bits and pieces. But I like heavy themed games, and I couldn’t wait to raise cattle, plow fields and have a "sheperd’s hour" with my wife (the Germans among you know what I mean ) and to send my kids plowing fields the next turn. Anyway, what I found was a very intriguing and fun game, and I was so proud of myself, my farm and my wooden family that I didn’t realize until the end of the game that I came in dead last with 17 VP (OK, the three Begging cards might have done their fair share...). I’d better watched the others....
So, just a few days ago, having totally forgotten about the humiliation of being just a sucky farmer and a poor head of family, I finally got my own copy of Agricola.
After punching, unwrapping, shuffling, dropping 200 cards on the floor, picking them up again and shuffling I started my first two games. They all ended at Harvest one (on my own free will), cause I was 4 food short in both games. But then I started planning ahead, and I managed to get a grip on the game, and I began my first REAL game of Agricola.