Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Legend of Robin Hood» Forums » Rules

Subject: Personal Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wesley Williams
United States
Capital Region
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this game for the first time today, and after reading the rules couldn't find an overt answer. I imagine this is a relatively obvious answer for those that have played this a bunch:

After a round of melee combat, if there are still units remaining on both sides, does personal combat between opposing leaders take place?

We ruled that it the combat phase ended and either side could move away or stick around and reengage combat next turn.

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You missed the rule but played correctly. If you read the rule for Personal Combat/Capture Sub-Phase you'll find this:

"Opposing leaders that occupy the same box with no units of either side present must engage in personal combat."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Williams
United States
Capital Region
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! We saw that rule, but we thought it odd that it was the case just by omitting what to do when personal combat didn't occur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see how it might be confusing.

Note that it's the last step in a 3-step procedure. The only way you get to step b (melee) is if opposing units survive step a (archery), and the only way you get to step c (personal combat) is if you have opposing leaders, but no units, after both archery and melee are completed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Williams
United States
Capital Region
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you again for your clarification. You explained it much better than the rules did.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.