Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Understanding colors and settle powers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thaddeus Ryan
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I start with Alpha Centauri, which has a -1 settle cost in a brown circle and a +1 military in a brown circle. I think these only apply to settling rare earth worlds (ie, brown worlds), but does this help when settling a windfall rare earth world such as Destroyed World? ie, If I start with Alpha Centauri then if another player selects Settle phase, can I lay Destroyed World in my tableau at no cost because of the Alpha Centauri bonus?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it applies to windfall as well as production worlds.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Kuha
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
I can tell we are going to be mortal enemies.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it might be in the text at the bottom of the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
YancyS wrote:
I think it might be in the text at the bottom of the card.
Pretty much. Whenever you see a gray box for the powers, consult the rulebook or player reference that came with the game. If it's a white box, a text box will go into it in more detail. In AC's case, semi-black, semi-red circle denotes both non-military and military worlds. The brown color on the inside indicates production and the brown only being on the outside with white on the inside denotes a brown windfall planet.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JP D
United States
Vestal
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
losh14 wrote:
ie, If I start with Alpha Centauri then if another player selects Settle phase, can I lay Destroyed World in my tableau at no cost because of the Alpha Centauri bonus?


Yes. That is exactly how it works.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Mining robots has the identical icon but no accompanying text. Can I assume that it also applied to Windfall worlds? My brain wants to insist that it shouldn't.

My brain really hates the icon design of this game sometimes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Gee
United States
California
flag msg tools
mb
apotheos wrote:
Mining robots has the identical icon but no accompanying text. Can I assume that it also applied to Windfall worlds? My brain wants to insist that it shouldn't.

My brain really hates the icon design of this game sometimes.


it does work for windfall worlds, according to the rules under card powers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clement Tey
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GeeR85 wrote:
apotheos wrote:
Mining robots has the identical icon but no accompanying text. Can I assume that it also applied to Windfall worlds? My brain wants to insist that it shouldn't.

My brain really hates the icon design of this game sometimes.


it does work for windfall worlds, according to the rules under card powers.

What does the exact section in the rules say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
princemousey wrote:
GeeR85 wrote:
apotheos wrote:
Mining robots has the identical icon but no accompanying text. Can I assume that it also applied to Windfall worlds? My brain wants to insist that it shouldn't.

My brain really hates the icon design of this game sometimes.


it does work for windfall worlds, according to the rules under card powers.

What does the exact section in the rules say?





For Mining Robots
Quote:
Specific Reduce Cost Reduce Cost to 0
–1 cost to place a non-military Rare elements production or windfall world ( ).

Emphasis mine.


For Alpha Centauri/the yellow discounts
Quote:
Specific Reduce Cost / Military

Reduce the cost of placing a non-military world of the indicated kind ( ),
or add to the player’s Military when conquering a military
world of that kind.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mining Robots' icon is specifically printed on the large reference sheets, with an accompanying description.

Alpha Centauri's icon is not on the large reference sheet, which is why it's explained by text on the card.

Both apply to ALL brown worlds. The only difference between windfall and production worlds is how they are treated by 6-cost developments and produce powers that specifically refer to windfalls.

Edit - and that windfalls start with a good, of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clement Tey
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, ackmondual! thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.