Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Battleground» Forums » Rules

Subject: Facing and Charging rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cwlvyn Dhwron
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a situation, where the two units are starting beside each other like this:

ddddddddcdddddddd
ddddddddddddddddd
ddddddddddddddddd..aaaaaaaacaaaaaaaa
cdddddddddddddddc..aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
ddddddddddddddddd..aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
ddddddddddddddddd..caaaaaaaaaaaaaaac
ddddddddcdddddddd..aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
....................................aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
....................................aaaaaaaacaaaaaaaa

a = attacking unit
d = defending unit
c = centerpoint
- = Card

The attacking unit is on Close.

Will the attaking unit move the front center point to the flank center point of the defender and charge?

Or will the attacking unit attack with his flank?

Or can the activ player chose?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Ellis
United States
Brookline
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The attacking unit will attack on the flank.

D is clearly visible, so it is eligible for final rush.
The flank is the 'facing side'.
Nothing is preventing an engagement of front to flank.
D's flank is within final rush range.

That's all you need.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marcus giegerich
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Chad,

I think he was asking whether unit A would turn 90 degrees to the left and attack unit D's flank with it's front or would unit A move a little bit forward, then final rush unit D with it's own flank.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Gross
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for final rushing with your flank are probably the most confusing rules in the whole rulebook. A few years ago when I started playing, I asked a whole series of clarifying questions. What it basically boils down to is this: the only time you'll ever final rush using your flank instead of your front is if there's not enough physical room for you to fit the card in if you rush with your front, but there is enough room if you rush with your flank. (This can happen due to the presence of other units, or terrain, or the table edge.)

I am not aware of any other conditions that allow you to final rush with your flank.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.