Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mr. Jack» Forums » Rules

Subject: miss stealthy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leo Lis
Lithuania
Vilnius - city
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can miss stealthy escapes in 1st round ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent FOUCHER
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so because you can only escape when you've got the No Witness card side up, which is NOT the case in the first round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb
United States
Seminole
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But if Miss Stealthy is the killer, she could escape in the 2nd round (in her first move in the game, if she's in the second set of 4 characters) with her 4-move power if the No Witness side is up then.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The 2nd round is where she would escape. Take a look at:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/219484

and

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/314434

both of which delve into the escape of Miss Stealthy on move 2 (rather than 1)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Lis
Lithuania
Vilnius - city
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thank`s !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Somerton
Australia
North Ryde - Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Duplicitous!
badge
I don't play to win - I play for enjoyment and social interaction.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My opinion is yes. The state of each character is determined at the start of the round. So at the very start of that first round, Stealthy is UNseen, meaning if her card is revealed in the first round, she CAN escape during that turn.

But on the first round the Inspector gets the first move. It's sometimes worth grabbing Stealthy and getting her away from the exit to prevent you losing the game in Jack's first move.

Yes, this does tend to lock you into a pattern, however, consider using Lestrade to block the exit or Godley to move Stealthy away, so there are loads of other options.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anomander64 wrote:
My opinion is yes. The state of each character is determined at the start of the round. So at the very start of that first round, Stealthy is UNseen, meaning if her card is revealed in the first round, she CAN escape during that turn.


Except for the game setup specifically tells you otherwise:
"The Witness/No Witness card is placed next
to the board, with the Witness side up for
the first turn"

The Witness is face up on the first turn, thus Jack can not escape, regardless of his character.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anomander64 wrote:
My opinion is yes.


Sorry, but your opinion is wrong. The call for Witnesses occurs after all characters have moved, and the Witness card is set accordingly. The Witness card is set Witness side up to start the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.