Subject: Removing casualties: Cheesey? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Cox
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First, I am new to the game so I am still learning. In my quest to learn new strategies, I've been watching YouTube videos and reading forums, blogs, etc. I only have 2 other opponents and they are also learning.

When we play we always remove casualties from the unit starting with the figures closest to the unit that is shooting. It just makes sense that the guys in front take the first shots.

However, I have seen cases where the casualties are being taken from the rear or a section of the unit that is not even in LOS of the firing unit. I checked the rulebook and from what I can tell, that is legal. To me, it just smells like cheese. I'd say cheating but it is not since the rules state it is OK. I would just be very disappointed if I was expecting certain figures to be removed and they were not. I guess I have a problem with it because every other game that I have played says to remove the figures from the front, closest to the firing unit, etc.

Don't get me wrong. I still like the game and will keep playing. Unfortunately, I will most likely never play a game with anyone else but friends as there is little to no support for the game in my area that I know of. I'd like for that to change, of course, as more opponents means more variety and opportunities to play.

Am I the only one who feels this way?

Michael
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno
Ireland
Galway
Galway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's what GW call 'streamlining the rules'. Even minis under cover can be chosen as losses.

Of course, the 'remove the closest' way can be as ridiculous as the heavy/special weapon trooper is then *somehow* always at the back of the squad and is always the last to die.

Only one way: total randomization of the casualties, but i'm told the youth of today no longer has the time...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls