Allan Brandt
Estonia
Tallinn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When browsing the forums, i noticed that in our few games so far, we have been a bit too liberal with tile upgrades, only checking if the company upgrading has a legal route on the hex, not route to the new segment.

But the rule: "must have a legal train route of any length from one of it station markers to and along one of the new track segments"

The question is, can 9 yellow

be upgraded to 19 or 20 green


by a company, that doesnt have a legal connection to the original straight track, but has a connection to the new track passing over?

It would be quite limiting if passing over tiles could be laid by companies that have a connection to both sections, but in our games so far we have only allowed an upgrade if the company has a legal route already on the hex in question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ashlar wrote:
When browsing the forums, i noticed that in our few games so far, we have been a bit too liberal with tile upgrades, only checking if the company upgrading has a legal route on the hex, not route to the new segment.

That's the rule used in some games, for example 1830. 1870 has a more restricitve rule.

Quote:
But the rule: "must have a legal train route of any length from one of it station markers to and along one of the new track segments"

->

by a company, that doesnt have a legal connection to the original straight track, but has a connection to the new track passing over?

Yes. That's what the rules says. You need a connection to the new track on the bridge.
On the other hand, a company that has only access to the straight track on the original tile can not do this upgrade.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.