Subject: Recommendations for a New Board Gamer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Frutos
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm relatively new to boardgames. I started with Carcassonne about a year ago, but what really hooked me was Settlers of Catan. My game collection consists of the following:

Carcassonne
Settlers of Catan
Seafarers of Catan
Stone Age
Pandemic
Bohnanza
Hive

I'm looking for suggestions for 2-3 more games to add to my collection, and I'd like one of them to be a little heavier weight than the games I already own. I usually play with 2-4 players (my teenage son, my wife, and occassionaly my 8 year old) and enjoy player interaction. Here is what I'm thinking about:

Puerto Rico
Alhambra
Princes of Florence
Ra
Saint Petersburg
Chinatown
I'm the Boss
Lost Cities
Citadels

Any advice or suggestions?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seriously, turn off Facebook. You'll be happier.
United States
Riva
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmb

No
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Maybe
    Maybe
    No
    No
    Yes

I'd add Tikal to the list of considerations as well.

Sag.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juanito
Spain
Córdoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, frutos.

I'll tell you about the ones i've played.

- Lost Cities: people tell me about it ant it was one of my "renewal" at boardgames after many years out. At first glance i felt moved opening my new game. Just the same playing our first games. But a couple of games after... . It's very well rated and i supposse everybody has his/her own opinion, but for me it's just a mathematical game. I remember "cinquillo", a game we play with usual decks (spanish or poker)... almost the same.

- Citadels: much better IMHO. You need at least four players; two or three can play, but not the same. I like the simple rules, the bluffing and interaction with other players (i can read your mind, Joe...). Quite good at usual party or with advanced players.

Hope this helps you