Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dual Nation units in multnational attacks.... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
i am trying to attack in romania with GE, AH ,and BU without
paying the extra ops penalty

and to plead my case....i refer to the playing piece card 3.2.1.3
unique regular combat units

all dual units are worded...."counts as BU and/or AH for all purposes"

note..not worded OR..... but AND/OR

GE and AH units are in Hermannstadt along with Mackensen

GE/BU XI and BU/AH are in Plevna

either space can be activated on its own for 1 OP to attack RO in Craiova

NOW THE QUESTION:
Can all these units then attack Craiova??

Plevna contains GE,BU,AH if you allow the AND to take over

or does the activation of the space determine the nationality of the
dual unit for the upcoming fight...

Are the dual units meant to be both nations... or one that must be
picked each time you activate...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The intent is that you pick one nationality each time your activate. You can make seperate picks for seperate units. The choice at time of activation cannot be changed until the unit has completed its move or attack.

In your example, the GE and AH units in Herrmanstadt can be activated for 1 Ops because of Mackensen. In order for the units in Plevna to attack together with the units in Herrmanstadt they would have to contain both a GE and an AH unit. The player would therefore have to make the GE-BU unit GE and the BU AH unit AH, and so it would cost 2 Ops to activate the space as it contains 2 nationalities.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
ok...makes sense even though i don't agree...

in effect then...the AND/OR means OR... since you always have to
pick one of them


and Wayne...please fogive this blatant attempt to try to save on OP
against you...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wayne heeley
Australia
flag msg tools
i'd try it myself if i thought the rules were ambiguous ;)

however, i think 9.2.2e is clear "..the owning player CHOOSES which nation the unit represents at the moment of activation..." so, 1 or the other, but not both simultaneously
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Stock
United States
Elsah
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
An interesting nuance, though.... Very interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
definitely agree now....missed 9.2.2e...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitry Buslaev
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys, sorry for hijacking a 6 year old post, but wanted to clarify a very similar, yet different situation.

GE, AH, Mackensen in Belgrade, BU in Nis are trying to attack Skopje.
Is this attack allowed?

I would think not, but would like to clarify.

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.