Popular Tags: [View All]
Marshall Miller
United States
Malden
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
The Warren is a roleplaying game about intelligent rabbits trying to make the best of a world filled with hazards, predators and, worst of all, other rabbits.
badge
Marshall is a Boston-based researcher and game designer.
mbmbmbmbmb
Alright. For all you stats savvy geeks, time for the big question. Which statistical package do you prefer? I have some experience with:

Minitab - hated
SPSS - easy to use but some versions don't compute split plot ANOVAs
SAS - currently learning and enjoying
R - no experience what so ever

Which do you prefer and why?
If you have used R, how do you like it? is it worth learning?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wiles
United States
Macon
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

I think Amy's learning/working with R right now. I'll make sure she sees your thread in a timely manner.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Steak Fairy
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Games? People still play games??
badge
Specious arguments are not proof of trollish intent.
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, you left out the obvious winner: BMDP. But if I have to choose from yours, then you left out SPSSx, so you failed again. Finally, of the ones you mentioned, SAS is probably the most enjoyable from a pure data processing standpoint. It's so much more robust than its original purpose requires that it's hard not to just love it to pieces.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
East Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SPSS is "easy to use?" Now I am feeling a bit dumb. I hated that program with my heart and soul when I was in college.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshall Miller
United States
Malden
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher