Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Whenever" vs. "If" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text on some occupation cards starts with "whenever," which clearly means it could occur multiple times. But what about occupation cards that start with "if"? For example, the NET FISHERMAN says "If one of your people . . ." Can this card only be used once (because it doesn't say "whenever") or can it be used multiple times throughout the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
If a cards ability can only be used once it will either be very specific such as the plows or it will grant an instant benefit and nothing else such as the lover or the Layabout.

In all other cases even the net fisherman their abilities always apply. I believe the net fisherman's card has an IF because it goes on to say that if someone takes the food on the fishing space you don't get it but I don't remember the exact wording.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott O'Brien
United States
Connellsville
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe_salamone wrote:
The text on some occupation cards starts with "whenever," which clearly means it could occur multiple times. But what about occupation cards that start with "if"? For example, the NET FISHERMAN says "If one of your people . . ." Can this card only be used once (because it doesn't say "whenever") or can it be used multiple times throughout the game?


the difference is this...

usually an If card (if one of you people gathers wood)
Then this action is only done on your turn.

but a when card... (whenever you bake bread)
sometimes you can do that on someone elses turn... like if you have a card that lets you bake bread if someone else does...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.