Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nolan St. Martin
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Recently I started painting the miniatures to my Doom boardgame, and as it turns out it looks like my skin is reacting (quite uncomfortably) to the paint that I'm using. Right now I'm just using regular acrylic craft paint (the kind you buy at dollar stores), and everything actually looked decent, but something in the paint isn't co-operating with my skin. That being said, I've never had a problem using my enamel model paints so I think I'm going to switch back to using them. However, I'm hoping to do an ink-wash over the figures, previously I was using my magic-wash (Future floorwax mix), but I don't want to waste it. Would this work ok with enamel paints? If not, any recommendations for washes with enamel paints?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Kendall
United States
Lebanon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd be very reluctant to paint the "Doom" minis with enamels due to the flexibility of the plastic. In my experience, no matter what kind of surface preparation is used, enamels flake off when the miniature is "bent."

Since the "Doom" pieces are not completely rigid, this is a risk.

Also, many of my "Doom" pieces continued to "cure" after the box was opened. This has resulted in the larger circular bases warping, not to an unusable degree (though the creatures now have built-in "animation" and "rock" on the board) but enough to suggest that this plastic-drying process might also cause enamel paint to flake off.

Acrylics have properties of flexibility that enamels do not possess, and while I use enamels on metal wargame figures because of their durability, I would only use acrylics on flexible plastic figures.

Have you considered wearing rubber or latex gloves when painting with acrylics?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nolan St. Martin
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb