Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ilium» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions about game play... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonty
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I saw a video review of the game and I have a few questions.

One about the rule where the next player must have at least half of the first to take artifact token. What happens if there is three or four players on the path? They must also have at least half of the first player or of the player before them, say #3 must have at least half of of #2, etc.

What happens after scoring? The meeples are taken back or left on the paths?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q1: There are only two tokens for each path. The player with the most meeples gets first pick, the player with the second to most gets 2nd pick. If the player with second to most has fewer than half the meeples of the player with the most, then the player with the most gets *BOTH* tokens. Players #3 and #4 get nothing, ever, so the number of meeples they have doesn't matter.

Q2: Scoring is the end of the game, so after that the meeples are picked up and put back in the box along with the board and the tokens. But I think you mean "after collecting the tokens." In that case, leave the meeples on the path. They are never taken back until the game is over. This only matters because the blocks can only be used once each per game, so if you picked them up then players would use them over and over.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wmshub wrote:
Q1: There are only two tokens for each path. The player with the most meeples gets first pick, the player with the second to most gets 2nd pick. If the player with second to most has fewer than half the meeples of the player with the most, then the player with the most gets *BOTH* tokens. Players #3 and #4 get nothing, ever, so the number of meeples they have doesn't matter.

Q2: Scoring is the end of the game, so after that the meeples are picked up and put back in the box along with the board and the tokens. But I think you mean "after collecting the tokens." In that case, leave the meeples on the path. They are never taken back until the game is over. This only matters because the blocks can only be used once each per game, so if you picked them up then players would use them over and over.


He's right ya know.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thom Parkin
United States
Sanford
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wmshub wrote:
Q1: There are only two tokens for each path. The player with the most meeples gets first pick, the player with the second to most gets 2nd pick. If the player with second to most has fewer than half the meeples of the player with the most, then the player with the most gets *BOTH* tokens.

The English rules clearly state that "The player with the most Archaeologist Figures on that stone pathway choose from either..."
That indicates that, if you are the sole player with pieces on that pathway, you get to CHOOSE from only one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Waggle, waggle
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ParkinT wrote:
wmshub wrote:
Q1: There are only two tokens for each path. The player with the most meeples gets first pick, the player with the second to most gets 2nd pick. If the player with second to most has fewer than half the meeples of the player with the most, then the player with the most gets *BOTH* tokens.

The English rules clearly state that "The player with the most Archaeologist Figures on that stone pathway choose from either..."
That indicates that, if you are the sole player with pieces on that pathway, you get to CHOOSE from only one.


No, if you keep reading down further, you will see a player who alone has archaeologists on a track will get both tokens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United States
Sarasota
Florida
flag msg tools
It's My T.A.R.D.I.S.
badge
Galifreyan is hard to read
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manukajoe wrote:
ParkinT wrote:
wmshub wrote:
Q1: There are only two tokens for each path. The player with the most meeples gets first pick, the player with the second to most gets 2nd pick. If the player with second to most has fewer than half the meeples of the player with the most, then the player with the most gets *BOTH* tokens.

The English rules clearly state that "The player with the most Archaeologist Figures on that stone pathway choose from either..."
That indicates that, if you are the sole player with pieces on that pathway, you get to CHOOSE from only one.


No, if you keep reading down further, you will see a player who alone has archaeologists on a track will get both tokens.


This is in my opinion incorrect, Nowhere does it state that if you alone are on the path between sites you can take both, It says "if there is another player " and " "If the second highest does not have half or more..."
With these qualifiers the person who is alone on a path gets to select 1 of the two available artefact tokens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.