Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Asia Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bougainville and "Tipping the Balance" Scenario rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Jackson
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
In "Tipping the Balance" scenario, Bougainville is listed as captured by Japan. In the example (14.25) the Japanese peel-off a garrison from an amphibious attack to "capture" the unoccupied Bougainville Port Box.

Does this mean that one can take advantage of an amphibious invasion in a given sea-zone and peel-off a garrison in order to occupy an empty friendly-controlled port-box or island area?

Thanks for any help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Johnston
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Yes. I don't have rules in front of me, but as long as it is a port or island BOX, not a large area. and it is in the same sea zone, then yes, you can peel off as many steps as you want to garrison port/island boxes as long as you have at least one step for your attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Luta
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer given misses the point...If Bouganville is indeed Japanese controlled, then the rules are quite clear, you cannot amphibiously invade an area already under friendly control. So it would seem this move is actually prohibited (it is well known there are several errors in the Playbook). But there is really no need, unless they completely run out of transport points during the production phase, they can simply build a garrison on a friendly supplied location.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.