charlotte guy
United Kingdom
scarborough
north yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I have played a couple of games now where the president has reveiled themself as a cylon half way through the game and have had most of the quorum cards in their hand.We can not find anything in the rules that states if the cards in hand are kept or discarded,so we have been playing where the cylon player keeps the cards but obviously can not play them.Is this right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the president reveals as a cylon, the highest human character in line of succession immediately becomes president and the Quorum cards are passed to this new president.

Rules Page 28 wrote:
Should the President or Admiral be revealed as a Cylon, the
next player in the line of succession for that title claims it


Rules Page 12 wrote:
Whichever player has the President title has control over
this hand of Quorum Cards. These cards are kept secret, and
there is no limit to the number of cards that may be in the
President’s hand.


6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. So if Roslin as President reveals as a Cylon her Quorum cards go to Baltar, if Baltar is in play. I had this happen when I was Baltar.As it happened, I was also a Cylon.devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
charlotte guy
United Kingdom
scarborough
north yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
We realise that the hand is passed on to the next person in succession but what we are unsure of is what happens to quorum cards that have allready been drawn by the president prior to revealing themself as a cylon do they keep them or place them in the discard pile?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
darth kitty wrote:
We realise that the hand is passed on to the next person in succession but what we are unsure of is what happens to quorum cards that have allready been drawn by the president prior to revealing themself as a cylon do they keep them or place them in the discard pile?

All face up cards are discarded. All cards still in hand are passed with the title.

EDIT:
Since there are contradictory answers below, here is the back-up to my response from the FAQ:

Quote:
Q: What happens to a player’s “keep in play” Quorum cards if
he becomes a revealed Cylon?
A: They are discarded.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike hibbert
United Kingdom
Gloucester
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
darth kitty wrote:
We realise that the hand is passed on to the next person in succession but what we are unsure of is what happens to quorum cards that have allready been drawn by the president prior to revealing themself as a cylon do they keep them or place them in the discard pile?


They get handed over too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules refer to this hand of Quorum cards, so there is only one hand, which the current president has control of. It does not matter that a previous president drew them.

Edit: Brian makes a good additional point 2 above, I don't think the answers below his are contradictory though, they just don't address the issue of cards that have been played face up by the previous president.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
charlotte guy
United Kingdom
scarborough
north yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for that it will make a massive differance to our games the quorum cards in hand been passed on with the presidants title card!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mantell
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
I agree: when the presidential title is passed (no matter what the reason is -- crisis card, revealed cylon, etc.) all drawn but unused quorum cards from the former president's hand are passed to the new president. However, previously discarded quorum cards are never drawn again. Additionally, quorum cards that were in play when the title was passed are discarded immediately and their effects are canceled.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Michaels
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Additionally, quorum cards that were in play when the title was passed are discarded immediately and their effects are canceled.


Really?

The FAQ answer:
Q: What happens to a player’s “keep in play” Quorum cards if HE becomes a revealed Cylon?
A: They are discarded.

I take it to mean if a player (president or not) has cards "attached" to him (like he is the Mission Specialist) and he reveals - those cards are discarded. [Makes sense, since you're no longer with the fleet].

But let's say the president assigned a Mission Specialist to Player A, then the presidency changed hands (through reveal or crisis). Yes, the drawn hand of Quorum cards passes to the new president. But the "in play" card that the old president assigned to Player A? I would think they they would still be valid, no?

The FAQ question doesn't make that clear. "A player's keep in play cards" sound like cards that are in front of him and they get discarded when they reveal. Or...Cylons can't have Quorum cards in their hand, or in play in front of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Man They Couldn't Hang
msg tools
al_fredo wrote:
Quote:
Additionally, quorum cards that were in play when the title was passed are discarded immediately and their effects are canceled.


Really?

The FAQ answer:
Q: What happens to a player’s “keep in play” Quorum cards if HE becomes a revealed Cylon?
A: They are discarded.

I take it to mean if a player (president or not) has cards "attached" to him (like he is the Mission Specialist) and he reveals - those cards are discarded. [Makes sense, since you're no longer with the fleet].

But let's say the president assigned a Mission Specialist to Player A, then the presidency changed hands (through reveal or crisis). Yes, the drawn hand of Quorum cards passes to the new president. But the "in play" card that the old president assigned to Player A? I would think they they would still be valid, no?

The FAQ question doesn't make that clear. "A player's keep in play cards" sound like cards that are in front of him and they get discarded when they reveal. Or...Cylons can't have Quorum cards in their hand, or in play in front of them.


The FAQ you quoted explicitly says they are discarded if the President reveals - therefore they are not discarded for any other change.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I think this got a little out of context. The question was specifically about what happens to the president. The rules are clear that the undrawn deck and the current hand of cards passes to the highest player in line of succession.

The next question was about played cards in front of the president (unless I read it wrong). If the president has any played Quorum cards in front of him/her, just like any other revealed Cylon, s/he would discard those cards in front of him/her only.

I don't think anyone advocated that Quorum cards in front of the other Humans or non-revealed Cylons would get discarded just because the president is getting canned. Cards in front of other players would remain.

So, president is revealed as a Cylon.
1) hand over the Quorum deck to the new President.
2) hand over the current hand of drawn but unplayed Quorum cards to the new president
3) discard any face-up Quorum cards in front of the president
4) Any face-up Quorum cards in front of other players remain with those players...until they are revealed as Cylons.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Sansone
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The 4 steps mentioned above are correct, except that a clarification is needed regarding what happens with Quorum cards that are in the discard pile. (I am not referring to cards that are removed from the game due to instructions appearing on those cards. Obviously any cards removed from the game are unaffected by changes in the presidency.)

The clarification needed here is that cards in the discard pile remain in the discard pile until there are no more undrawn Quorum cards. As noted in the base game rules, anytime any card deck runs out (Crisis, Destination, Skill, Quorum, etc.), the discard pile is reshuffled and forms a new undrawn deck.

An earlier comment above appeared to suggest that discarded cards are out of the game. Only removed cards are out of the game. Cards are removed only if the instructions on the cards say they are removed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.