Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: 60mm mortar and LOS rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antoine Nebout
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would like to suggest you a situation which occurred during my first game.

Here is the game map :

---------
l Wood l
l (C) l
l l
---------
---------
l Open l
l Ground l
l (B) l
---------

---------
l Open l
l Ground l
l (A) l
---------
---------
l STAGING l
l AREA l
l l

On card A (Open Ground) I have :
CO HQ
1 PLT HQ
1/60mm Mortar H/C-L (3 steps)

On card B (Open Ground) I have :
1/1 PLT S/L
CO XO

On card C (Woods) I have :
1/LMG Team A/L under foxholes (germen) which is spotted

During the game, I considered the 1/60mm mortar had a clear LOS between him and the wood, so he was entitled to fire to the germen 1/LMG unit. I put an H VOF marker on the card C. I took the hypothesis he was authorized to fire above friendly units in card B.

Q1 : Is it correct ?
Q2 : If correct, where to put the PDF marker for the 60mm mortar ?
Q3 : Is it mandatory to have the CO HQ and 60mm mortar on the same card to fire with the 60mm mortar ?


I considered also the 1/1 PLT on card B was entitled to fire to card C because the german unit was spotted. I didn’t put a S VOF marker on card C because it already had an H VOF marker from the mortar. There was a PDF marker from B to C.

Q4 : Is it correct ?


The 1/LMG Team was entitled to fire to card B. I put an A VOF marker on card B and an PDF marker from C to B. I took the hypothesis the 1/LMG unit was not authorized to fire above US units in card B. So card A didn’t receive VOF marker from the LMG even if the LMG have a clear LOS to card A.

Q5 : Is it correct ?

To say I’m struggling with the rules is just a sweet euphemism…

Thank you for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Q1 : Is it correct ?


Yes. 6.4.3, last sentence: Mortars have no restrictions on firing over the heads of friendly troops.

Quote:
Q2 : If correct, where to put the PDF marker for the 60mm mortar ?


one pointing from card A to card B, then another from card B to card C.

Quote:
Q3 : Is it mandatory to have the CO HQ and 60mm mortar on the same card to fire with the 60mm mortar ?


No, because in this case the mortar can see and is firing Direct Lay (6.7.4). He doesn't need a spotter.

Quote:
Q4 : Is it correct ?


Yes.

Quote:
Q5 : Is it correct ?


Yes. Per targeting priorities the LMG is required to open fire on B rather than on A (B is closer).

Best,
Ricky

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antoine Nebout
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the answers.
Once you understand a little bit the rules that's a great game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.