Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis & Allies Anniversary Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving CT thru a combat SZ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Fitt
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Suppose the enemy has a fleet in the sea zone around your island, can you attack it to clear the way and then in the non-combat phase move a CT there and unload it onto your island? Or, must thr CT go with the DDs to be in the attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fox Mulder
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Any sea unit can move into a friendly sea zone during the non-combat phase regardless of when the sea zone became a friendly territory on the map. It doesn't matter what was there before the combat phase of your turn.

Don't be confused because of the combat movement rule for air units rule that states:
A&A:AE Rulebook wrote:
An air unit that moves in (the combat) phase must reserve part of its move value for the Noncombat Move phase, at which point it must return to a safe landing spot using its remaining move. An air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total move value...An air unit must end its move (during noncombat) in an eligible landing space. Bombers and fighters may land in any territory that was friendly at the start of your turn.


An air unit must to land in a territory that was friendly at the beginning of a turn. These movement rules don't apply to land or sea units; they can go into any friendly territory during noncombat movement regardless of when the territory became friendly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Crowder
Canada
North Bay
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In fact the air unit can make plans to land in the sea zone where it battles, by landing on your carrier that will enter that sea zone on the non-combat move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fox Mulder
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Cecrow wrote:
In fact the air unit can make plans to land in the sea zone where it battles, by landing on your carrier that will enter that sea zone on the non-combat move.

Thanks for pointing that out. The rules quoted from the rulebook only apply to landing in "land territories" that were friendly at the beginning of your turn. Fighters may land on ACs in sea zones that are taken during combat phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.