Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Dust» Forums » General

Subject: Amphibious Assault Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
DONALD McLeod
United States
Gastonia
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I bought Dust about 2 weeks ago and have played 3 times so far. An incident came up today that seemed confusing. I had a battle force stationed on a coastal area that included two bombers. Additionally, I had 4 subs adjacent to the same sea area that the bombers could attack. Two enemy subs were occupying that sea area. I had played a card with 3 movements and two combats.

It seemed to me that I should have been able to use my special bomber attack to attack the the enemy submarines, then, having cleared the sea zone, move my subs in to enable an amphibious attack on the coastal area opened up. I would have burned a combat point with the bomber attack, but I would not have risked my subs. Yes, technically this would require a movement during the combat phase, but it seemed logical to me that it "should" be that way.

I ended up taking the enemy subs out with my subs and then attacking with my force, but I wonder if anyone else has had this come up and what you did to resolve it.

Another more minor question came up as well- if all units occupying a production center are destroyed before counterattack (due to tactical superiority) does the center get to roll it's bonus dice in response?

Thanks in advance.

Don
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dlmcleo1 wrote:
I bought Dust about 2 weeks ago and have played 3 times so far. An incident came up today that seemed confusing. I had a battle force stationed on a coastal area that included two bombers. Additionally, I had 4 subs adjacent to the same sea area that the bombers could attack. Two enemy subs were occupying that sea area. I had played a card with 3 movements and two combats.

It seemed to me that I should have been able to use my special bomber attack to attack the the enemy submarines, then, having cleared the sea zone, move my subs in to enable an amphibious attack on the coastal area opened up. I would have burned a combat point with the bomber attack, but I would not have risked my subs. Yes, technically this would require a movement during the combat phase, but it seemed logical to me that it "should" be that way.

I ended up taking the enemy subs out with my subs and then attacking with my force, but I wonder if anyone else has had this come up and what you did to resolve it.


I think the rules are clear: you must complete your movement before you start your combat phase.

dlmcleo1 wrote:
Another more minor question came up as well- if all units occupying a production center are destroyed before counterattack (due to tactical superiority) does the center get to roll it's bonus dice in response?


Nope. Once the units are gone, the production center is no longer owned by the defender.[/q]

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.