Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Hedlund
United States
Cornelius
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to PR, having played only a couple dozen times with my family/kids. The strategy articles on this site are outstanding and have helped us to considerably improve our game.

I was trying to clear up some ambiguity concerning the supply rules in the Captain's phase by referring to the original German rules. I noticed to my surprise that the "Craftsman" in German is referred to as "Aufseher" which actually means overseer. Craftsman would be translated as Handwerker. Overseer probably has a more negative connotation in American culture. Have you ever wondered that the dark brown disks may represent slaves rather than colonists and that the colonist ship may be something more sinister? This is probably obvious to many of you, but I thought I'd throw it out there.

It's interesting to note that on the eve of the American Revolution Jamaica was a more profitable colony to Britain than the 13 Colonies combined.

jh

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
Radgamer wrote:
This is probably obvious to many of you, but I thought I'd throw it out there.

Yes, it is obvious and has been discussed ad nauseum over the years.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Sergeant
United States
Burlington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Radgamer wrote:

I had never heard anyone mention the german before....
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a lot of rerferences and jokes here about slaves in PR, so yes, it was noticed :-). But you are right, the German version is a little bit more explicit about the "Aufseher".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
norman rule
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Radgamer wrote:
negative connotation