Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: New to Agricola! - Occupation questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lauren Lazar
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

My friends and I are currently in the process of stumbling through our first game of Agricola! We have come up with a few questions about some of the occupations.

First:

Field Warden: This occupation allows the player to place his/her marker on a space even if it is occupied. We're just wondering if the other person who has already put their marker there still gets to take the resources or whether the warden is "stealing" from them.

Hut Builder: It says, "Play this card during Stage 1." Does the player still have to choose the occupation action in order to play this occupation, or is it like a "freebie" that gets to be played during Stage 1 for free since it doesn't come into effect until Round 11.

We're sort of hoping for a fast response since we're playing right now! lol

Additionally, we're looking for suggestions for what to order for dinner so feel free to make a reccommendation!

Thanks so much! I'm new to BGG (and strategy board games in general, really) and everyone was so helpful the other day when we were trying to figure out "Age of Steam!"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Giron
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Field warden - This does not steal, just allows you to share the space so that you both get to take the action.

Hut Builder - Still must take the Occupation action to play this card.

Dinner - Take the 'Phone' action and order a pizza!

Now get back to the game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lauren Lazar
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!

You response was helpful, quick, humorous, and potentially delicious!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lauren Lazar
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so we've ordered pizza, eaten it, and are now satisfied!

That being said, we've come up with another question!

We're wondering, can you slaughter animals at ANY time to make food? Our friend has a cooking hearth and he doesn't have room to keep an extra animal on his board but he's wondering if he can take the extra animal and slaughter it to make food immediately without having to place it on his board first.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Giron
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can slaughter animals at any time EXCEPT, you cannot slaughter a baby animal just after the breeding phase.

Any animals you take from the board you can cook them immediately whether you have the room for them or not. If you don't have room for an animal and no means to cook them, they are just set free ( ie returned to the supply).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
laureneve wrote:
Field Warden: This occupation allows the player to place his/her marker on a space even if it is occupied. We're just wondering if the other person who has already put their marker there still gets to take the resources or whether the warden is "stealing" from them.

Important note - are you taking your resources IMMEDIATELY or at the end of the turn? You should take them the moment the meeple is placed.

Quote:

Hut Builder: It says, "Play this card during Stage 1." Does the player still have to choose the occupation action in order to play this occupation, or is it like a "freebie" that gets to be played during Stage 1 for free since it doesn't come into effect until Round 11.

Still get to pay for it. Still have to be able to play an occupation to place it.

Quote:
Additionally, we're looking for suggestions for what to order for dinner so feel free to make a reccommendation!

Thanks so much! I'm new to BGG (and strategy board games in general, really) and everyone was so helpful the other day when we were trying to figure out "Age of Steam!"

Order some lamb!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lauren Lazar
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! We've made it through our first game, went to a concert in between, and are now back and onto our second!

Now we're wondering, what is the point of the "outhouse" minor improvement? It says it has no effect. Does it do ANYTHING? We can't figure it out!

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Eve
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
laureneve wrote:
Great! We've made it through our first game, went to a concert in between, and are now back and onto our second!

Now we're wondering, what is the point of the "outhouse" minor improvement? It says it has no effect. Does it do ANYTHING? We can't figure it out!

Thanks!


It is worth points at the end of the game (indicated in the golden circle on the card). That is all it is for.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian
Germany
Hürth
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
I won an Games for Geekgold Lottery with 0.09% Chance of winning. You sure you wanna mess with me?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hammerite wrote:
It is worth points at the end of the game (indicated in the golden circle on the card). That is all it is for.

And it's quite cheap for two points which weighs against having to build it quickly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.