Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Viper Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Chapman
msg tools
I'm very confused by something and seeking some clarification.

In the rule book it states that you can “choose one option once you activate a viper”

One of these options is attack with a viper.

Below this it says “each viper maybe activated any number of times during a player’s turn”

So….doesn’t that theoretically mean that each viper can attack an unlimited amount of times a round? I’m sure that isn’t correct since that seems much too overpowered since from what I gather attacks only happen on turns and there is no “return fire”.

Can someone please clarify and explain this a bit more clearly?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get a limited number of Viper activations.

Examples:

Taking an action as a pilot gives you 1 activation of the Viper you are in.

The Command location gives you 2 activations of unmanned Vipers.

Apollo's once per game ability gives you 6 activations of unmanned Vipers.

What the rule means is that if you have multiple Viper activations in a turn you can use them all on the same Viper, rather than having to use each one on a different Viper.

So as the number of activations you have is limited, so the number of times a single Viper may be activated is also limited.

But it is correct that you may with Apollo's ability (for example) attack with the same Viper 6 times.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The...
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drakain wrote:
Below this it says “each viper maybe activated any number of times during a player’s turn”

So….doesn’t that theoretically mean that each viper can attack an unlimited amount of times a round? I’m sure that isn’t correct since that seems much too overpowered since from what I gather attacks only happen on turns and there is no “return fire”.
There's no hard limit on the number of times an individual Viper can be activated in a single turn. The limitations instead come from the action(s) you can give.

Theoretically, a single unmanned Viper could be activated a maximum of eight times in a single turn if Apollo is given an Executive Order when he's already on the Command location. Command provides two activations, while his once per game CAG ability provides six more.


Edit:
Actually, you could extend that even more if he launches a new Viper with the final activation and then uses his Alert Viper Pilot ability to hop into it. That gives him one additional action, which could be used to play a Maximum Firepower card if there are Raiders within range.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Chapman
msg tools
Much appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
There's no hard limit on the number of times an individual Viper can be activated in a single turn. The limitations instead come from the action(s) you can give.

Theoretically, a single unmanned Viper could be activated a maximum of eight times in a single turn if Apollo is given an Executive Order when he's already on the Command location. Command provides two activations, while his once per game CAG ability provides six more.


Edit:
Actually, you could extend that even more if he launches a new Viper with the final activation and then uses his Alert Viper Pilot ability to hop into it. That gives him one additional action, which could be used to play a Maximum Firepower card if there are Raiders within range.


Also, if Starbuck starts her turn in a viper, she can move to command, activate it, and then XO Apollo for the above effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.